Operational archive

Daily IntelligenceReports

Comprehensive daily intelligence summaries with geospatial analysis and threat assessment.

Daily intelligence

Pulkovo disruption reported; major outage localized to Yanino

Intelligence Summary & Geospatial Analysis
Report number
835

Intelligence Summary

Strategic Overview

Reported drone activity disrupted Pulkovo Airport, but the electricity-outage picture requires a narrower geographic and restoration assessment. Local accounts support approximately 20,000 or more affected residents in Yanino, Leningrad Oblast. They do not establish a comparable affected population in St. Petersburg. Their overlapping totals must not be added together.

A local report also quotes Rosseti Lenenergo saying service had been restored in specified districts of St. Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast. Yanino was explicitly outside that company's service territory, with restoration there reported as continuing. Neither Yanino's final restoration time nor incident-level primary utility records are established by the reviewed material.

The original reporting also described fires and casualties around St. Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast, continued Russian strikes on Ukraine, and Ukrainian announcements of attacks on occupied rear areas. Those reports retain their attribution and verification limits; the outage investigation does not validate separate casualty or damage claims. No independently verified territorial change is established.

Reporting window: approximately 19:50 UTC, 17 October–19:50 UTC, 18 October 2026. Publication within the window does not necessarily establish an event's precise occurrence time.

Operational Updates

  • Dnipropetrovsk axis — unconfirmed: Russia's MoD reported engagements near Gavrilovka, Pavlovka, Pokrovskoye and Kolomiytsy, Dnipropetrovsk Oblast, in its 18 October summary. No independent geolocation establishes advances or settlement-control changes. Confidence: LOW.
  • Zaporizhzhia / Orikhiv axis — unconfirmed: Russia's MoD reported operations near Vasinovka, Zalivnoye, Volnyanka, Orikhiv, Kamyshevakha and Kushugum, Zaporizhzhia Oblast. Ukraine's Southern Grouping spokesperson separately assessed that Russian forces intend to capture Orikhiv by the end of October. This is an attributed assessment, not a verified Russian order or evidence of an advance. Confidence: LOW for battlefield outcomes and Russian intent; MEDIUM for the spokesperson's statement.

Deep Strikes & Air Defense

Russian strikes on Ukraine

  • Kharkiv: Mayor Ihor Terekhov reported a Shahed strike on Osnovianskyi district. The original report also included additional mayoral and regional-authority strike reporting, with possible overlap. The retained claim does not establish the exact event timing, sequence or number of distinct impacts. No casualty, damage or interception assessment is established here. Confidence: MEDIUM for the attributed report.
  • Rivne, Rivne Oblast — unconfirmed: Russia's MoD claimed an overnight group UAV strike on a Nova Poshta logistics center, alleging storage of dual-use cargo, including UAVs. Target identification, military use and damage remain uncorroborated in the supplied reporting.
  • Odesa / Black Sea — unconfirmed: Russia's MoD issued separate claims of UAV strikes against cargo ships 30 km east of Odesa and 50 km southwest. No vessel names, flags, cargo details or independent confirmation were supplied. Statements from the same source do not corroborate one another.

St. Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast

  • Pulkovo Airport: Sever Realii reported that operations practically stopped after a drone attack. The original report also cited Kotsnews for disruption and closure exceeding six hours; that duration remains unverified. Confidence: MEDIUM for the reported disruption.
  • Electricity outage — location refined: One local account reports approximately 20,000 residents across 50 apartment buildings in Yanino, with two transformer substations disconnected. It attributes the cause to authorities' account of debris falling on power lines. Another local account reports more than 20,000 affected in Yanino. These reports support the broad scale specifically in Leningrad Oblast. They may share regional-authority information and should not be treated as independent population measurements or summed.
  • Restoration — service boundary matters: A local report quotes Rosseti Lenenergo saying electricity had been restored in St. Petersburg's Krasnogvardeysky and Kalininsky districts and Leningrad Oblast's Vsevolozhsky district, with equipment operating normally and consumers fully supplied. The article excludes Yanino from that company's service territory and says restoration there was continuing, according to the regional government. This neither negates the Yanino outage nor establishes that the entire affected population remained without power.
  • Primary-record limitation: The reviewed Rosseti North-West webpage provides general planned-outage guidance, not an incident-specific record. The retrieved VK page contains only a browser-compatibility notice. Direct substantiation through emergency-service bulletins or incident-level utility logs remains unresolved in the supplied material. This does not establish that such records do not exist.
  • Casualties and fires — unconfirmed: The original report cited Sever Realii and Kotsnews for one death, with Starshe Eddy disputing that toll. Sever Realii additionally reported 15 injured and fires involving residential buildings, oil facilities and warehouses. These remain attributed, preliminary reports; the outage findings do not independently substantiate them.
  • VK data center — unconfirmed: Sever Realii reported a strike on a VK data center during the attack. The original report also noted Kotsnews' description of the facility surviving with protection over rooftop equipment. Precise location, facility-level damage and operational effects remain unverified. Ukrainian responsibility for the wider attack is not established in the supplied reporting.

Occupied rear areas

Unconfirmed: Ukraine's General Staff announced strikes on a drone storage, preparation and launch site near Donetsk, Donetsk Oblast; a South Grouping armored-vehicle repair base near Sukhodilsk, Luhansk Oblast; and a troop concentration near Dubove, Donetsk Oblast, on 17 October and overnight into 18 October. No weapon types or independently verified battle-damage assessment were supplied. These are announcements of attacks, not confirmed degradation of drone operations, repair capacity or personnel strength.

Air-defense accounting

Unconfirmed: Russia's MoD claimed that air defenses downed seven “Flamingo” long-range cruise missiles and 1,256 fixed-wing UAVs. No independent interception evidence or verification of the missile designation accompanies these totals.

SAR Intelligence (Satellite Data)

No validated exact-track SAR measurements from imagery acquired in the reporting window are available in the supplied reporting. No acquisition-family comparison, change score or imagery-review priority can be assigned. This absence does not establish stability or inactivity.

Equipment & Losses

  • Ukrainian personnel — unconfirmed: Russia's MoD attributed 195+ troops lost to its Vostok Grouping's operations and 30+ troops lost to its Dnepr Grouping's operations in the 18 October summary. These remain source-reported figures without independent corroboration or a verified casualty-category breakdown.
  • No independently verified military-equipment loss is established by the supplied reporting.

Confidence Check

  • MEDIUM — Pulkovo disruption: the retained claim supports an attributed report that operations practically stopped. The precise closure duration remains unverified.
  • MEDIUM — Yanino outage scale and location: local accounts support approximately 20,000 or more affected residents. Overlapping figures must not be summed; direct incident-level primary records remain unresolved.
  • MEDIUM — reported restoration: a locally reproduced utility statement supports restoration in specified service areas, not final restoration in Yanino. Yanino's outage duration and final restoration time remain unknown.
  • LOW — detailed physical effects and casualties: separate fire, injury, disputed death and data-center effects remain unverified.
  • MEDIUM for the attributed Kharkiv report; LOW for unresolved sequence and outcomes.
  • MEDIUM for the Ukrainian General Staff announcement; LOW for effects near Donetsk, Sukhodilsk and Dubove.
  • LOW — Rivne and Odesa-area strike outcomes, Russian southern-axis outcomes, personnel-loss figures and interception totals: these remain uncorroborated assertions. The Orikhiv statement is an official Ukrainian assessment, not verification of Russian intent.

The Bottom Line

The material correction is geographic and operational: the reported tens-of-thousands-scale outage is supported in Yanino, while restoration was reported elsewhere. It should not be presented as a comparable St. Petersburg population still without power. Pulkovo disruption remains a significant reported effect, but detailed damage, casualties and military consequences remain unresolved.

Watch next:

  1. Incident-level utility or emergency-service records clarifying Yanino's outage duration and final restoration status, alongside Pulkovo operational updates.
  2. Independent casualty and damage assessments around St. Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast, plus Kharkiv impact reporting.
  3. Independent confirmation of the Rivne and Odesa-area claims, dated imagery of the Ukrainian-announced rear-area strikes, and evidence of any positional change around Orikhiv.

Follow-up investigation

Materially refined

Question

Do utility outage records and local emergency-service updates substantiate that the 17–18 October drone attack left tens of thousands of residents in St. Petersburg or Leningrad Oblast without electricity?

Answer

Local reporting attributed to regional authorities substantiates the reported scale, but the pack does not contain directly reviewable incident-level utility records or emergency-service bulletins. ABN24 reports approximately 20,000 residents affected in Yanino, Leningrad Oblast; another local report gives more than 20,000 affected there and quotes Rosseti Lenenergo confirming restoration elsewhere in its service territory. This supports a geographically narrower, temporary outage claim—not a verified citywide total or a continuing outage affecting all those residents [external-e6118761b52e2129; external-6d407b48332f8c78].

Findings

  • Materially refinedMedium confidence

    Observation: a local news account reports approximately 20,000 residents in 50 apartment buildings without electricity in Yanino, with two transformer substations disconnected; it attributes the cause to authorities' account of debris falling on power lines. Another local account reports more than 20,000 affected in Yanino. Inference: these reports substantiate the broad 'tens of thousands' scale specifically in Leningrad Oblast, rather than establishing a comparable affected population in St. Petersburg.

    These are media accounts carrying official attribution, not directly reviewed outage logs. Their overlapping figures may derive from the same regional-authority information and should not be treated as independent population measurements or added together.

  • Materially refinedMedium confidence

    Observation: a local report quotes Rosseti Lenenergo saying electricity had been restored in St. Petersburg's Krasnogvardeysky and Kalininsky districts and Leningrad Oblast's Vsevolozhsky district, with its equipment operating normally and consumers fully supplied. The article explicitly excludes Yanino from that company's service territory and says restoration there was continuing, according to the regional government. Inference: the restoration statement does not negate the Yanino outage, but the original claim should not imply that the entire affected population remained without power.

    The utility statement is reproduced by a local news outlet rather than supplied as a primary utility bulletin. The article does not establish outage duration or a final restoration time for Yanino.

  • InconclusiveHigh confidence

    Observation: the reviewed Rosseti North-West outage webpage provides general guidance on planned outages, not an incident-specific record for the attack. The retrieved VK page contains only a browser-compatibility notice. The substantive local news accounts provide attributed information but no directly reviewable emergency-service bulletin or incident-level utility log. Inference: direct substantiation by those primary records remains unresolved in the frozen pack.

    This describes the limitations of the supplied captures, not proof that primary records or emergency-service updates do not exist. The generic outage webpage cannot establish either the occurrence or absence of this outage.

Remaining gaps

  • Direct incident logs or bulletins from the electricity operator serving Yanino, including interruption and restoration times.
  • A directly reviewable regional emergency-service update confirming the affected population and causal link to attack debris.
  • A verified affected-resident total for St. Petersburg, separate from Yanino, and a final restoration status for Yanino.

Investigation sources (27)

  1. Strike by Shahed drone on Osnovianskyi district of the cityІгор Терехов

    Завдано удару ворожим «Шахедом» по Основʼянському району міста.

  2. Pulkovo airport practically stopped operations after drone attackСевер.Реалии

    Под удар попал дата-центр VK, десятки тысяч жителей остались без электричества, а аэропорт Пулково практически остановил работу.

  3. VK data center hit during drone attack on PetersburgСевер.Реалии

    Под удар попал дата-центр VK, десятки тысяч жителей остались без электричества, а аэропорт Пулково практически остановил работу.

  4. Tens of thousands of residents left without electricity after drone attackСевер.Реалии

    Под удар попал дата-центр VK, десятки тысяч жителей остались без электричества, а аэропорт Пулково практически остановил работу.

  5. Nightwatch content 140716ASTRA

    Occupied Donetsk and Makiivka districts reportedly lose power and water after overnight strikes on energy facilities. **Attachments and relation to caption** - The post contains a single video message with a Russian-language caption; no photo album or separate media items are present. - The video's

  6. Nightwatch content 123278ASTRA

    Video album from Saint Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast showing fuel queues and gas station closures amid a regional fuel crisis. - The text reports that Leningrad Oblast Governor Alexander Drozdenko announced a 30-liter limit per fill-up at gas stations until October 1 to stabilize fuel supply. -

  7. Nightwatch content 151584Поддубный |Z|О|V| edition

    ### Analysis: Russian Propaganda Claims Ukrainian State Collapse Imminent **1. Summary** A Telegram post amplifies a video interview from Vladimir Solovyov's show featuring Russian military correspondent Evgeny Poddubny, asserting that the "Kyiv regime" faces existential threats due to energy

  8. Nightwatch content 137504Операция Z: Военкоры Русской Весны

    Russian MoD-aligned source claims mass strikes on Ukrainian energy, communications, and port targets; attached video content is not independently viewable in the provided text. **Attachments and cross-media fusion:** The post is a single video item with a Russian-language caption. No frames,

  9. Nightwatch content 95625General SVR

    Dear subscribers and channel guests! Yesterday, internet and communication outages occurred in many regions of Russia. Later, concerned citizens were told there was no need to worry; the problem was with the power supply to a major communications hub, and that was all. That's true, but no one

  10. Nightwatch content 140623Colonelcassad

    Russian military-political officer 'Litovets' cited in Kursk Oblast flag-raising and award narrative. The post consists of a single video attachment with a Russian-language caption; no additional photos or albums are indicated. No visual frames, geolocation, or on-screen identifiers are available

  11. Nightwatch content 135712STERNENKO

    Ukrainian unit alleges Russian forces used civilians as human shields during withdrawal in Kupiansk area; video not independently verifiable from provided text. **Key observations** - Single item: one video message with Ukrainian-language caption; no additional photos, documents, or separate album

  12. Nightwatch content 144438Дневник Десантника🇷🇺

    Pro-Russian Telegram channel claims massed Russian missile strike on Kyiv, energy infrastructure, and Zaporizhzhia; attached photo shows large nighttime fire in Kyiv. **1. One-line summary:** 'Дневник Десантника' asserts a combined Russian strike with about 20 missiles against

  13. Nightwatch content 93790Оперативний ЗСУ

    ## Young Man Celebrates Restoration of Electricity in Melitopol Following 17-Day Blackout **Summary:** A video message posted to a Telegram channel claims to show a live broadcast from Melitopol, celebrating the restoration of electricity after 17 days, with the poster expressing support for

  14. Nightwatch content 136358Два майора

    Russian volunteer fundraiser claims 33rd Guards Motor Rifle Regiment needs 3.04M RUB in drones, radios, generators, and laptops for the Druzkovskoe direction, with only 244,221 RUB reportedly raised. **Attachments and cross-media relation:** The supplied attachment is a single video with no

  15. Nightwatch content 146426ТАСС

    ### Russian 'Africa Corps' Disrupts Militant Ambushes During Kidals Liberation: Official from Mali **1. One-line summary:** A Telegram post featuring a TASS video report claims that the 'Africa Corps' (a rebranded Wagner Group unit) successfully disrupted militant ambushes during the liberation of

  16. Nightwatch content 103703Поддубный |Z|О|V| edition

    Russian MoD claims strikes on Ukrainian drone command posts and mechanized brigade locations in Kharkiv and Kherson regions using X-39 missiles and FAB-3000 bombs. ### Key Observations * **Weapon Specificity:** The caption explicitly identifies the use of light multi-purpose guided missiles (X-39)

  17. Nightwatch content 127361КМВА (Київська міська військова адміністрація)

    Ukrainian long-range strike claim targets Moscow-region oil and logistics sites, with sanctions cited in Voronezh. Attachment status: only a video attachment is supplied; no visual frames, on-screen text, metadata, or audio transcription are available in the provided content, so the text cannot be

  18. Nightwatch content 146125ASTRA

    ## Zelensky Confirms Mirror-Strike Response to Yandex Data Center Attack in Ryazan Region **One-line summary:** ASTRA reports Zelensky publicly acknowledged Ukraine's strike on Yandex's data center in Sasovo, Ryazan region (Oct 8), framing it as a mirrored response to Russian attacks on Ukrainian

  19. Nightwatch content 97204🇺🇦 Запорізька обласна військова адміністрація 🇺🇦

    Zaporizhzhia Oblast Energy Reports Restoration of Power to Over 171,000 Consumers Following Weekly Russian Strikes The provided input references a video message but contains no actual visual media for analysis; the caption alone describes a press briefing by utility spokesperson Zoreslava Tsuprenko

  20. Nightwatch content 156120Север.Реалии

    "Дети боятся возвращаться домой". В ночь на 18 октября Петербург и Ленинградская область пережили массированную атаку украинских беспилотников. Один человек

  21. Nightwatch content 121669ASTRA

    OSINT Analysis: Fuel Crisis in Saint Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast **Summary** Telegram post and accompanying videos report a fuel shortage in Saint Petersburg/Leningrad Oblast following drone strikes on the Kirishinefteorgsintez refinery, with authorities considering rationing measures. **Key

  22. Nightwatch content 22773ASTRA

    Ленинградская область вновь под атакой БПЛА, сбиты 4 дрона, сообщает губернатор «Возможно понижение скорости мобильного интернета», — добавил Дрозденко.

  23. Nightwatch content 89866Colonelcassad

    # Nighttime Fire at Zaporizhzhia Shopping Center and Industrial Targets ## Summary Telegram posts claim multiple nighttime strikes on Zaporizhzhia, including the destruction of the "Epicenter" shopping center and damage to "Zaporizhzhstal," supported by video evidence of a large fire at a

  24. Власть Экономика Происшествия Общество Чтиво Дачное дело Сланцевский район+3 Лодейнопольский район+2 Тосненский район+3 Кингисеппский район+3 Все новости Предстоящей ночью в Петербурге разведут два моста 22:33 Тайны кошачьего поведения: как питомцы выбирают любимых людей и зачем «закапывают» еду 21:57 Почти у всех жителей Янино уже есть свет 21:32 Александр Дрозденко поздравил работников дорожного хозяйства с профессиональным праздником 20:55 “Я его построил”. Павел Дуров* высказался об атаке на дата-центр ВК 20:30 Психологи Красного Креста помогают людям в ПВР Ленобласти 19:54 В Италии начались беспорядки. Граждане недовольны налогами и ценами 19:29 Губернатор Ленобласти поздравил мужчин с Днем отца 18:56 Микко Макконен ведет наблюдение. У финско-российской границы заметили башню 18:28 Ленинградскую область накроет туман 17:53 Как питанием скорректировать метаболизм и похудеть. Советы эндокринолога 17:31 Аэропорт Пулково обслужил более 15 тысяч пассажиров после возобновления работы 16:52 Скоро взойдет Луна Охотника. Дичь можно выслеживать три дня 16:10 В Петербурге иномарка сбила 9-летнего ребенка, перебегавшего дорогу 15:51 Закрытый с ночи участок ЗСД вновь открыт 15:08 Ночью в Л

  25. В Ленобласти из-за атаки БПЛА 50 многоквартирных домов остались без света Ленинградская область. В результате мощной атаки беспилотников, которая произошла в ночь на 18 октября, в Ленинградской области случились перебои в электроснабжении. Фото: pxhere В регионе зафиксировали отключение двух трансформаторных подстанций в Янино. В связи с этим в зону отключения попали 50 многоквартирных домов. Без света остались около 20 тыс. человек. Причиной отключения электричества власти Ленобласти называли падение обломков на линии электропередач. Александр Дрозденко в официальных соцсетях сообщил, что подача электричества восстанавливается в оперативном порядке. Ранее АБН24 сообщало, что беспилотники атаковали центр обработки данных «ВКонтакте» в Ленобласти. атака БПЛА Ленинградская область отключение электричества Ленинградская область: актуальные новости

  26. Ihr Browser ist veraltet Das kann zu einer langsameren und fehlerhaften Arbeit von VK führen. Aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser oder installieren Sie einen der folgenden: Opera Firefox

  27. A 8-800-220-0-220 Включаем светгорячая линия Россети Северо-Запад Потребителям. Интернет-приемная РОССЕТИ СЕВЕРО-ЗАПАД Территория обслуживания Тарифы Передача электроэнергии Технологическое присоединение Передача объектов электросетевого хозяйства Энергосбытовая деятельность Коммерческий учет электроэнергии Дополнительные услуги Обслуживание потребителей Электробезопасность и энергосбережение Обратная связь Уважаемые посетители сайта! Вы можете получить информацию о плановых отключениях электроэнергии на территории эксплуатационной ответственности ПАО «Россети Северо-Запад», связанных с ремонтом оборудования электрических сетей на Портале электросетевых услуг ТП.РФ. Графики плановых отключений размещаются ежемесячно*, до первого числа месяца. Если вы не нашли информации об отключении, которое произошло на вашем объекте, позвоните на телефон «Горячей линии» 8-800-220-0-220 (звонок бесплатный) для уточнения информации. Просим с пониманием отнестись к временным неудобствам из-за отсутствия электроснабжения. *В соответствии с режимом работы электрических сетей сроки вывода оборудования в ремонт могут быть изменены в соответствии с существующим порядком согласования отключений

Evidence and freshness

4 current-window claims

17 Oct 2026, 19:51 UTC
to 18 Oct 2026, 19:51 UTC

Strike by Shahed drone on Osnovianskyi district of the city

Single-source claimMEDIUM confidence
Source published: 18 Oct 2026, 04:22 UTC
Source origin: Ігор Терехов
The source was published inside the reporting window; the event occurrence time was not specified. Only one source origin supports this claim.

Pulkovo airport practically stopped operations after drone attack

Single-source claimMEDIUM confidence
Source published: 18 Oct 2026, 17:34 UTC
Source origin: Север.Реалии
The source was published inside the reporting window; the event occurrence time was not specified. Only one source origin supports this claim.

VK data center hit during drone attack on Petersburg

Single-source claimMEDIUM confidence
Source published: 18 Oct 2026, 17:34 UTC
Source origin: Север.Реалии
The source was published inside the reporting window; the event occurrence time was not specified. Only one source origin supports this claim.

Local accounts report approximately 20,000 or more residents without electricity in Yanino, Leningrad Oblast, following the reported attack. This supports the broad tens-of-thousands scale in Yanino, not a comparable affected population in St. Petersburg. A locally reproduced utility statement reports restored service in specified St. Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast districts, while restoration in Yanino was reported as continuing outside that utility's service territory.

CorrectedMEDIUM confidence
Source published: 18 Oct 2026, 17:34 UTC
Source origin: Север.Реалии
The accounts carry official attribution but are not directly reviewed incident-level utility logs or emergency-service bulletins. Their overlapping population figures may share regional-authority information and must not be added together. The restoration statement does not cover Yanino; its outage duration and final restoration time remain unresolved. The reviewed primary-page captures neither establish nor disprove the outage.

Frontline context

Territorial control and recent changes shown by DeepState.

Report 18 Oct 2026, 19:53 UTCLagged by 46.9 h
Map revision comparison

Against the previous report from 17 Oct 2026, 15:06 UTC, bright red is newly marked Russian-occupied and green is no longer marked occupied. For the infiltration area, yellow is this report and cyan is the previous report.

Compare on map

The latest control-map interval ended 46.9 hours before this report. These map dates may differ from the reporting period and do not establish when territorial changes occurred.

Latest interval
+8.2 km²
24 h ending 16 Oct 2026, 20:59 UTC
Daily net
+8.2 km²
24.1 h comparison
Seven-day net
-44 km²
145.9 h comparison
Largest changes in the latest measured interval
Near Pokrovsk
5.8 km² changed · RF-held gained 5.8 / lost 0.0 km²
Near Pokrovsk
2.5 km² changed · RF-held gained 2.5 / lost 0.0 km²

Positive values indicate an increase in Russian-occupied area; negative values indicate a decrease. Yellow marks DeepState's infiltration area (gray zone), which is not included in occupied-area totals.

Report Visuals

5 visuals
Open full size
Nightwatch daily report #835: Gavrilovka area

Geospatial Analysis

19 locations identified