Nightwatch
Intelligence archive
Historical intelligence

Situation Report

Archived operational intelligence briefing retained for historical analysis.

Intelligence brief / archived issue

Situation Update (UTC)

Key reported developments

  • Perm refinery reported halted after drone attack (Perm, Russia): ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, citing Reuters and two unnamed industry sources, reported that the Lukoil-Permnefteorgsintez refinery halted after a drone attack on the morning of 25 September that caused a fire and damage to pipelines, storage and technological equipment. The post described the plant as Russia’s seventh-largest by refining volume and as the fourth Russian refinery to halt in under a week. (Event: morning of 25 September, per the report; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS; 2026-09-25 20:03:53 and 20:03:54; MEDIUM for the reported halt and fire, LOW for attribution to Ukrainian drones.)

  • Air alerts across several Ukrainian oblasts: Ukrainian Air Force issued notices of KABs on Zaporizhzhia Oblast; a jet-powered UAV past Novi Sanzhary, Poltava Oblast, heading northwest; a jet-powered UAV toward Voznesensk from the south; and a jet-powered UAV from Poltava Oblast into Cherkasy Oblast, course toward/past Drabiv. No interception, impact or damage results were supplied. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України / Air Force of the Armed Forces of Ukraine; 2026-09-25 20:12:02, 20:14:12, 20:19:44 and 20:31:56; HIGH that the notices were issued, no confidence for outcomes.)

  • US aid package reported not to include Patriot missiles: РБК-Україна, citing Reuters, reported that the United States did not include Patriot air-defense missiles in a new military aid package for Ukraine. The same item said the Trump administration would spend $400 million approved by Congress in late 2025, with $307 million already contracted and $93 million to be obligated by 30 September. ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS repeated the Patriot claim. (Event time not stated; РБК-Україна, 2026-09-25 20:19:25; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 20:32:56 and 20:36:41; MEDIUM for the relayed reporting, LOW for independent confirmation; repetition is not independent corroboration.)

  • Claims of destroyed commercial warehouses in Kyiv Oblast: Операция Z, relaying Военкоры Русской Весны, claimed a Sushiya restaurant-chain warehouse in Kyiv was destroyed with all inventory and packaging. Военкор Котенок claimed a HAVI Logistics warehouse in Trebukhiv, Kyiv Oblast, serving McDonald’s and Sushiya, was destroyed. Supplied photos show a large blue-panelled industrial building on fire, but no branding, geolocation or date. (Event times not stated; Операция Z, 2026-09-25 20:19:30 and 20:19:31; Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-25 20:25:03 and 20:25:04; LOW.)

  • Claimed strike on Aznauri alcohol distribution center (Odesa region): Colonelcassad claimed Russian forces destroyed the main distribution center of alcohol producer Aznauri in Odesa region, with about 8,000 m² of warehouse space and a significant volume of finished product destroyed. One photo shows a burned warehouse with broken bottles, but no Aznauri branding, geolocation or date. (Event time not stated; Colonelcassad; 2026-09-25 20:35:03 and 20:35:04; LOW.)

  • Russian tactical-medicine column published: Colonelcassad published a weekly column attributed to the head of “Tactical Medicine Courses” with the callsign “Latysh” on identifying dislocations in the field, illustrated with a generic shoulder-anatomy diagram. The channel’s own accompanying assessment says no date, location, unit or patient data was provided. (Source: Colonelcassad; 2026-09-25 20:15:06 and 20:15:07; MEDIUM for the post, LOW for author credentials.)

  • Non-conflict items from TASS: TASS relayed a report that the auditor general of the armed forces of the Democratic Republic of the Congo died in a plane crash near Kenge along with 12 others, mostly officers, after the pilot reported technical problems and attempted an emergency landing. TASS also relayed Iran’s foreign minister saying Iran gave the United States a seven-day plan under which navigation through the Strait of Hormuz would be restored. (Source: ТАСС; 2026-09-25 20:23:01, 20:23:02 and 20:31:19; MEDIUM for the crash report, LOW for identities and cause; LOW/UNCONFIRMED for the Iran plan.)

Reported situation by area

  • Perm, Russia: New reporting from ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS relays Reuters that the Lukoil-Permnefteorgsintez refinery halted after a drone attack on the morning of 25 September, with fire and damage to pipelines, storage and technological equipment. The previous supplied situation report carried a similar ASTRA item on the same refinery; that is a prior baseline line and is not independent corroboration of this new relay. (Source: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 20:03:53; MEDIUM for the reported halt and fire, LOW for strike attribution.)
  • Poltava Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force reported a jet-powered UAV past Novi Sanzhary with a north-western course, and later a jet-powered UAV moving from Poltava Oblast into Cherkasy Oblast toward/past Drabiv. No outcome was reported. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 2026-09-25 20:14:12 and 20:31:56; HIGH for issuance.)
  • Zaporizhzhia Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force issued a notice of KABs on Zaporizhzhia Oblast. No impact, casualty or damage information accompanied the notice. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 2026-09-25 20:12:02; HIGH for issuance.)
  • Mykolaiv Oblast / Voznesensk: Ukrainian Air Force reported a jet-powered UAV heading toward Voznesensk from the south. No interception or impact result was supplied. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 2026-09-25 20:19:44; HIGH for issuance.)
  • Cherkasy Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force reported a jet-powered UAV from Poltava Oblast into Cherkasy Oblast, course toward/past Drabiv. No outcome was supplied. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 2026-09-25 20:31:56; HIGH for issuance.)
  • Kyiv city and Trebukhiv, Kyiv Oblast: Pro-Russian channels claimed destruction of a Sushiya warehouse in Kyiv and of a HAVI Logistics warehouse in Trebukhiv serving McDonald’s and Sushiya. Supplied images show a large industrial fire but do not confirm branding, ownership, geolocation or date. The previous baseline had a separate РБК-Україна company statement about a Sushiya warehouse destruction without location; the new pro-Russian claims are not independent corroboration of that baseline item. (Sources: Операция Z, 2026-09-25 20:19:30 and 20:19:31; Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-25 20:25:03 and 20:25:04; LOW.)
  • Odesa region: Colonelcassad claimed a Russian strike destroyed the main Aznauri alcohol distribution center, about 8,000 m² of warehouse space and significant finished product. No geolocation, date, unit or independent confirmation was supplied. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 20:35:03 and 20:35:04; LOW.)
  • No new sector updates: This batch contains no new evidence for Donetsk, Luhansk, Kharkiv, Kherson, Dnipropetrovsk, Sumy or other ground sectors. The previous situation report and daily report are historical baseline only; silence in this batch is an evidence gap and does not establish that those areas are quiet or unchanged.

Reported strikes and air-defense activity

  • Ukrainian Air Force alerts: Notices were issued for KABs on Zaporizhzhia Oblast and for jet-powered UAV tracks over Poltava, Mykolaiv and Cherkasy oblasts. No interception counts, impact assessments or damage reports were provided. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України; 2026-09-25 20:12:02, 20:14:12, 20:19:44 and 20:31:56; HIGH for issuance, no confidence for outcomes.)
  • Claimed Russian strikes on commercial infrastructure: Colonelcassad claimed a strike on the Aznauri alcohol distribution center in Odesa region; Операция Z, relaying Военкоры Русской Весны, claimed a Sushiya warehouse in Kyiv was destroyed; Военкор Котенок claimed a HAVI Logistics warehouse in Trebukhiv, Kyiv Oblast, was destroyed. All are single-source pro-Russian claims, with photos showing fire damage but not confirming target identity or location. (Sources: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 20:35:03; Операция Z, 2026-09-25 20:19:30; Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-25 20:25:03; LOW.)
  • Reported drone attack on the Perm refinery: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS relayed Reuters reporting that the Lukoil-Permnefteorgsintez refinery halted after a drone attack on the morning of 25 September, causing fire and damage to pipelines, storage and technological equipment. Attribution to Ukrainian drones is asserted in the relayed reporting and is not independently verified in this batch. (Source: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 20:03:53; MEDIUM for the reported fire and halt, LOW for attribution.)
  • No new consolidated air-defense results: This batch does not supply interception rates, missile counts or assessed outcomes for the alerts or claimed strikes.

Reported Russian activity

  • Colonelcassad: Claimed a Russian strike destroyed the main Aznauri alcohol distribution center in Odesa region and about 8,000 m² of warehouse space plus significant finished product, publishing one photo of a burned warehouse with bottles. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 20:35:03 and 20:35:04; LOW.)
  • Военкор Котенок: Claimed a HAVI Logistics warehouse in Trebukhiv, Kyiv Oblast, serving McDonald’s and Sushiya, was destroyed, publishing photos of a large industrial fire. (Source: Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-25 20:25:03 and 20:25:04; LOW.)
  • Операция Z / Военкоры Русской Весны: Reposted a claim that a Sushiya warehouse in Kyiv was destroyed with all inventory and packaging, citing the company’s press service. (Source: Операция Z, 2026-09-25 20:19:30 and 20:19:31; LOW.)
  • Colonelcassad tactical-medicine column: Published a Russian-language field-medicine instructional column attributed to “Latysh” on recognizing dislocations, with a generic shoulder diagram. The post contains no operational event or unit data. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 20:15:06 and 20:15:07; MEDIUM for the post, LOW for credentials.)
  • TASS non-conflict items: TASS relayed the DRC plane-crash report and Iran’s statement about a seven-day plan for navigation through the Strait of Hormuz. These are non-Ukraine items from Russian state media. (Source: ТАСС, 2026-09-25 20:23:01, 20:23:02 and 20:31:19; MEDIUM for the DRC crash report, LOW/UNCONFIRMED for the Iran plan.)
  • No new Russian MoD bulletin in this batch: The previous situation report carried a Russian MoD “Top News Today” bulletin; this batch does not supply a new MoD operational bulletin.

Reported Ukrainian activity

  • Ukrainian Air Force alerts: Issued notices for KABs on Zaporizhzhia Oblast and jet-powered UAV tracks over Poltava, Mykolaiv and Cherkasy oblasts. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України; 2026-09-25 20:12:02, 20:14:12, 20:19:44 and 20:31:56; HIGH for issuance.)
  • Ukrainian media reporting on US aid: РБК-Україна relayed Reuters that the new US military aid package did not include Patriot missiles and that $400 million approved by Congress in late 2025 would be spent, with $307 million contracted and $93 million to be obligated by 30 September. (Source: РБК-Україна, 2026-09-25 20:19:25; MEDIUM for the relayed reporting.)
  • Ukrainian channel repetition: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS repeated the Reuters-sourced Patriot claim twice. This repetition is not independent corroboration. (Source: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 20:32:56 and 20:36:41; LOW for added verification.)
  • No Ukrainian official strike claims in this batch: The new messages do not contain a Ukrainian General Staff or official claim of specific strikes. The Perm refinery attack is attributed to Ukrainian drones only through the relayed Reuters text.

Civilian and infrastructure impact

  • Perm, Russia: The new reporting says the Lukoil-Permnefteorgsintez refinery halted after a drone attack, with fire and damage to pipelines, storage and technological equipment. This batch does not supply casualty figures for the incident. (Source: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 20:03:53; MEDIUM for the reported fire and halt.)
  • Kyiv city and Trebukhiv, Kyiv Oblast: Pro-Russian channels claim destruction of commercial warehouses linked to Sushiya, McDonald’s and HAVI Logistics, with photos showing a large industrial fire. Ownership, location, date and cause are unverified; no casualty figures were supplied. If authentic, the claims would imply disruption to food-service logistics in the Kyiv region, but that effect is not independently confirmed. (Sources: Операция Z, 2026-09-25 20:19:30; Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-25 20:25:03; LOW.)
  • Odesa region: Colonelcassad claims destruction of about 8,000 m² of Aznauri warehouse space and a significant volume of finished product. No casualty figure, geolocation or independent damage assessment was supplied. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 20:35:03; LOW.)
  • Air alerts: No impacts, casualties or service disruptions were reported in connection with the KAB or jet-powered UAV notices in this batch.
  • No new civilian casualty figures for Ukraine: This batch supplies no new verified casualty, displacement or service-outage figures for Ukrainian territory beyond the claimed commercial warehouse damage.

Information environment and disputed claims

  • Pro-Russian commercial-strike framing: The Sushiya/HAVI and Aznauri claims are carried by pro-Russian military-correspondent channels. Supplied photos show severe industrial fire damage but lack brand identifiers, addresses, geolocation or timestamps. The HAVI post uses mocking language about fast-food products burning, and the Aznauri post uses the slogan “Пьянству — бой!”; these are framing cues rather than evidence. (Sources: Операция Z, 2026-09-25 20:19:30 and 20:19:31; Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-25 20:25:03 and 20:25:04; Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 20:35:03 and 20:35:04; LOW.)
  • Perm refinery claim through Ukrainian channels: The new item is a Ukrainian Telegram relay of Reuters, citing two unnamed industry sources. The accompanying analysis in the same post notes the video cannot be inspected here, the sourcing is second-hand and anonymous, and the date is described as ambiguous between 25 September and Friday. Ukrainian channels have an incentive to amplify Russian refining disruptions. (Source: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 20:03:53 and 20:03:54; MEDIUM overall.)
  • US Patriot aid reporting: РБК-Україна and ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS both cite Reuters that Patriot missiles were not included in a new US aid package. The repetition is not independent corroboration and no direct Reuters link or document is supplied in the messages. (Sources: РБК-Україна, 2026-09-25 20:19:25; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 20:32:56 and 20:36:41; MEDIUM for the relayed reporting, LOW for independent confirmation.)
  • Russian tactical-medicine content: The Colonelcassad column is presented as military medical training. It contains no overt propaganda in the supplied text, but its placement on a military-correspondent channel fits a preparedness narrative; the author’s credentials and the course’s existence are unverified. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 20:15:06 and 20:15:07; MEDIUM for the post, LOW for credentials.)
  • TASS non-conflict items: The DRC plane-crash report is supported by video of a crash site but the identities and cause are unverified. The Iran/Hormuz item is a single-source statement with no independent confirmation. (Source: ТАСС, 2026-09-25 20:23:01, 20:23:02 and 20:31:19; MEDIUM for the crash report, LOW/UNCONFIRMED for the Iran plan.)
  • Analytic support: The supplied Dempster-Shafer beliefs assign 0.853070 to “Uncertainty” and 0.146930 to “Logistical Shift: Infrastructure Damage in Odesa region.” These are analytic scores only; they are not new facts and do not corroborate any reported event.
  • Previous baseline disputes remain unresolved: The previous situation report described contested Russian MoD claims around Dobropolye/dobropillia and other sectors. This batch contains no new Ukrainian official rebuttal or Russian MoD update on those specific claims.

Evidence limitations and unresolved questions

  • The Perm refinery halt rests on a second-hand Reuters relay via a Ukrainian Telegram channel, citing two unnamed industry sources. No Russian official, Lukoil or local emergency-service confirmation appears in this batch; the attached video is not inspectable here, and the source’s own analysis flags date ambiguity.
  • The Sushiya and HAVI Logistics warehouse claims are single-source pro-Russian assertions with photos that do not confirm brand identity, ownership, address or date. The Sushiya claim was previously reported in the baseline without a location; the new Kyiv/Trebukhiv details are not independent corroboration of the earlier baseline item.
  • The Aznauri warehouse claim supplies no geolocation, date, weapon type, unit or independent damage assessment. The photo shows a burned warehouse with bottles but not Aznauri branding; the 8,000 m² figure is unsupported by the image.
  • The Ukrainian Air Force notices confirm only that alerts were issued. They do not establish interception, impact, damage or all-clear outcomes in Zaporizhzhia, Poltava, Mykolaiv or Cherkasy oblasts.
  • The US aid-package reporting is relayed from Reuters by Ukrainian outlets and repeated across channels. No direct Reuters article, official US statement or package document is supplied in the messages.
  • The DRC plane-crash report has video consistent with a crash, but the identities of the victims, especially the auditor general, and the cause remain unverified by the supplied material.
  • The Iran/Hormuz seven-day plan is a single-source statement relayed by TASS, with no independent confirmation or document.
  • The Colonelcassad tactical-medicine column’s author credentials, course affiliation and doctrinal authority are unverified.
  • No new evidence in this batch covers Donetsk, Luhansk, Kharkiv, Kherson, Dnipropetrovsk, Sumy or other ground sectors; absence from this batch is an evidence gap only.
  • The supplied weather context provides time-qualified numeric observations as of 2026-09-25T20:30 UTC at reference points near the contact line (for example Kharkiv/Vovchansk 9.2C and mainly clear; Donetsk/Pokrovsk 10.3C and clear; Kherson 14.1C and overcast), but no event in this batch is directly linked to those conditions, and no weather-derived conclusions are drawn here.