Nightwatch
Intelligence archive
Historical intelligence

Situation Report

Archived operational intelligence briefing retained for historical analysis.

Intelligence brief / archived issue

Situation Update (UTC)

Key reported developments

  • Russian MoD "Top News Today" bulletin claims buffer-zone expansion and multiple strikes: MoD Russia published a bulletin claiming that Defence Minister Andrei Belousov inspected the Sever Group of Forces, whose commander reported on creating a "security zone" in the border areas of Sumy and Kharkiv regions; that the 76th Guards Chernigov Red Banner Order of Suvorov Air Assault Division (51st Army) was congratulated on the "liberation" of Dobropolye Maloye in the Donetsk People's Republic; that drone strikes were launched against Ukrainian defence-industry enterprises, logistics centres and ships supporting the AFU; that Aerospace Forces crews using FAB-500 bombs hit a temporary deployment area of the 10th Separate Mountain Assault Brigade near Mayaki (Kramatorsk region) and a UAV command post of the 475th Separate Assault Regiment near Svetlichnoye (Kharkiv region); and that 61st Marine Brigade drone pilots struck AFU positions in Dobropolye (DPR) and blocked breakout attempts from an encirclement. No coordinates, dates or battle-damage evidence accompany the claims, and the attached composite image is branding rather than geolocated evidence. (Event time not stated; MoD Russia; 2026-09-25 19:34:44 and 19:34:45; LOW for all operational claims, MEDIUM that the bulletin was published.)
  • Perm refinery halted after reported UAV attack: ASTRA, citing Reuters on the evening of 25 September, reported that the Lukoil-Permnefteorgsintez (PNOS) refinery halted operations after a UAV attack that caused a fire and damage to pipelines, storage and process units, described as the fourth Russian refinery to stop in under a week (after the Moscow, Kuibyshev and Novoshakhtinsk refineries since 20 September). Perm governor Dmitry Makhonin was cited as saying one person died. A supplied photo shows a large smoke column over a cityscape but no refinery infrastructure, timestamp or geolocation. (Event: morning of 25 September, per the report; ASTRA; 2026-09-25 19:57:01 and 19:57:02; MEDIUM for the reported halt and fire, LOW for strike attribution and the casualty figure.)
  • Poltava — reported strike near railway station: Colonelcassad posted that there were reports of an incoming strike in Poltava near the railway station, with video showing a dense smoke plume seen through railway gantry structures. The footage carries a "TRUKHA" watermark; the location within Poltava is not geolocatable from the video and no casualty or damage figures were supplied. (Event time not stated; Colonelcassad; 2026-09-25 19:55:07 and 19:55:08; LOW.)
  • Cosmonova data centre reported damaged: РБК-Україна relayed a company statement that the Cosmonova data centre building was damaged during an "enemy attack", that no employees were hurt and that all client data remained safe due to geographic redundancy of infrastructure. The attached image shows an intact corporate-looking facility and a person using a phone, and does not show damage. No date, location or weapon type was supplied. (Event time not stated; РБК-Україна; 2026-09-25 19:35:05 and 19:35:06; LOW / UNCONFIRMED.)
  • "Sushiya" restaurant chain warehouse reported destroyed: РБК-Україна reported that a Russian attack destroyed the warehouse of the "Sushiya" restaurant chain along with all product stocks and packaging, quoting the company that it would do everything to restore supplies and uninterrupted operation quickly. No location, date, casualty figure or damage assessment was supplied. (Event time not stated; РБК-Україна; 2026-09-25 19:43:18; LOW.)
  • Ukrainian Air Force jet-UAV track notices toward Mykolaiv: Повітряні Сили ЗС України posted that a jet-powered UAV was heading toward Mykolaiv Oblast from the Black Sea, and later repeated a jet-powered UAV on course for Mykolaiv from the Black Sea. No interception, impact or damage results were supplied for either track. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України / Air Force of the Armed Forces of Ukraine; 2026-09-25 19:38:40 and 20:04:50; HIGH that the notices were issued.)
  • Russian fundraiser for naval-infantry UAV units on the Druzhkivka direction: Два майора published an appeal by naval-infantry unmanned-systems UAV operators for reconnaissance drones and technical equipment on the Druzhkivka direction, itemizing Mavic 4T drones (5 units, 2,375,000 RUB), 4T batteries (10, 160,000 RUB), generators (10, 250,000 RUB) and UAV equipment (510,000 RUB), for a stated total need of 3,295,000 RUB, with 419 participants claimed in 24 hours, 2,851,443 RUB total collected and 443,557 RUB remaining. These are channel self-reported figures and no delivery or unit evidence was supplied. (Source: Два майора; 2026-09-25 19:49:43 and 19:49:44; LOW.)
  • EU reportedly seeking to redirect Patriot interceptor queue to Ukraine: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, citing unnamed media and an unnamed senior official, reported that the EU is looking for countries willing to cede their queue position for Patriot missiles to Ukraine, that part of the interceptors will come directly from the United States via the PURL mechanism, and that a meeting of the EU Council at defence-minister level would be a further opportunity to press member states to agree to such an exchange. No named states, quantities or documents were supplied. (Event time not stated; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS; 2026-09-25 19:58:28; LOW / UNCONFIRMED.)

Reported situation by area

  • Sumy and Kharkiv border areas: The only new reporting is the Russian MoD claim that Sever Group forces are creating a "security zone" in the border areas of Sumy and Kharkiv regions, attributed to a commander's briefing to Defence Minister Belousov. No map, coordinates, settlement names or independent evidence were supplied. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44; LOW.)
  • Dobropolye / Dobropolye Maloye, Donetsk Oblast: MoD Russia claims the 76th Guards Chernigov Red Banner Order of Suvorov Air Assault Division (51st Army) "liberated" Dobropolye Maloye and that 61st Marine Brigade drone pilots are attacking AFU positions in Dobropolye and blocking attempts to break out of an encirclement. This is a continuation of a Russian MoD line carried in the previously supplied daily-report baseline concerning Dobropillia; the new bulletin supplies no independent corroboration, and no new Ukrainian official rebuttal appears in this batch. The place name "Dobropolye Maloye" is distinct from "Dobropillia" as spelled in the baseline. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44; LOW.)
  • Kramatorsk region (Mayaki) and Kharkiv region (Svetlichnoye): MoD Russia claims FAB-500 strikes on a temporary deployment area of the 10th Separate Mountain Assault Brigade near Mayaki and on a UAV command post of the 475th Separate Assault Regiment near Svetlichnoye. No imagery, coordinates or damage assessment was supplied. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44; LOW.)
  • Kupiansk direction: MoD Russia's bulletin refers to an AFU prisoner-of-war account of the situation on the Kupiansk direction; no content, date, unit or verification detail for the interview was supplied. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44; LOW.)
  • Slavyansk–Kramatorsk agglomeration: MoD Russia refers to a counter-UAV platoon leader with the call sign "Pioner" describing his unit's work; this is narrative content without operational detail. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44; LOW.)
  • Zaporizhzhia direction: Воин DV claimed that UAV crews of the 120th Guards Naval Infantry Division, part of the Vostok group of forces, destroyed enemy personnel on the Zaporizhzhia direction, publishing a raw FPV feed of a strike into dense vegetation. The footage shows an explosion and smoke but the target is obscured; unit attribution and the claim of personnel struck are unverified. (Source: Воин DV; 2026-09-25 19:44:58 and 19:44:59; MEDIUM for the footage, LOW for attribution and target.)
  • Lyman and Slavyansk directions: Рыбарь's daily digest lists "the situation on the Lyman and Slavyansk directions" among its 25 September materials but supplies no substantive content in this batch; the reference is an index entry, not evidence of battlefield change. (Source: Рыбарь; 2026-09-25 20:00:47; LOW.)
  • Poltava: A reported strike in the area of the railway station, with smoke visible near railway infrastructure in supplied video; no geolocation, casualty or confirmed damage reporting. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 19:55:07; LOW.)
  • Perm, Russia: Reported UAV attack and halt of the Lukoil-Permnefteorgsintez refinery, with a large smoke plume over the city. (Source: ASTRA, 2026-09-25 19:57:01; MEDIUM.)
  • Mykolaiv Oblast: Jet-powered UAV track notices from the Black Sea toward Mykolaiv, with no outcome reported. (Sources: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 2026-09-25 19:38:40 and 20:04:50; HIGH for the notices.)
  • No new sector updates: This batch contains no new evidence for Kherson, Odesa city ground sectors, Dnipropetrovsk, Chernihiv, Vinnytsia or other areas; silence here is an evidence gap and does not establish that those areas are quiet or unchanged. The previously supplied situation report is treated only as historical baseline.

Reported strikes and air-defense activity

  • Claimed Russian strikes per MoD Russia: The bulletin claims drone strikes against Ukrainian defence-industry enterprises, logistics centres and ships used in the interests of the AFU, plus FAB-500 strikes near Mayaki (Kramatorsk region) and Svetlichnoye (Kharkiv region). No target imagery, dates, coordinates or battle-damage assessments were supplied, and no Ukrainian confirmation appears in this batch. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44; LOW.)
  • Reported strike near Poltava railway station: Video evidence shows a dense smoke column viewed through railway gantry structures consistent with the caption, but the site cannot be geolocated from the footage, which carries a TRUKHA aggregator watermark; no casualty or damage figures were given. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 19:55:07 and 19:55:08; LOW.)
  • Reported UAV attack on the Perm refinery: Per Reuters as relayed by ASTRA, the 25 September attack caused a fire and damage to pipelines, storage and process units and halted the plant; the governor is cited as reporting one death. Attribution to Ukrainian drones is asserted in the reporting and is not independently verified in this batch. (Source: ASTRA, 2026-09-25 19:57:01 and 19:57:02; MEDIUM for the reported fire and halt, LOW for attribution.)
  • Russian FPV strike footage from the Zaporizhzhia direction: Воин DV published a first-person-view strike into vegetation attributed to 120th Guards Naval Infantry Division UAV crews of the Vostok group; the explosion is visible, the target identity is not. (Source: Воин DV, 2026-09-25 19:44:58 and 19:44:59; MEDIUM for the footage, LOW for the claim.)
  • Ukrainian UGV reported evading an FPV drone strike: Оперативний ЗСУ published footage it captions as a ground robotic complex of the Belfut company, 14th Separate Mechanized Brigade, evading an enemy FPV drone strike during a logistics task and continuing its movement. The video is presented with stylized "technological warfare" graphics, and the moment of evasion is not shown directly in the frames described. (Source: Оперативний ЗСУ; 2026-09-25 19:59:01 and 19:59:02; MEDIUM for the footage, LOW for the claimed outcome.)
  • Air Force track notices: Two jet-powered UAV track notices toward Mykolaiv Oblast from the Black Sea, with no interception counts or impact assessments supplied. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 2026-09-25 19:38:40 and 20:04:50; HIGH for issuance, no confidence for outcomes.)

Reported Russian activity

  • Russian MoD information product: The "Top News Today" bulletin combines the Belousov inspection, "security zone" framing in Sumy and Kharkiv regions, the VDV congratulation on Dobropolye Maloye, claimed deep strikes, FAB-500 strikes, the Dobropolye encirclement-pressure claim, a POW interview and a counter-UAV unit account, closing with "Victory is on the horizon". No Russian losses, failed attacks or Ukrainian counterclaims are mentioned. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44 and 19:34:45; MEDIUM that the bulletin was published, LOW for its operational claims.)
  • Russian strike footage from Zaporizhzhia direction: Воин DV, a pro-Russian aggregator, published FPV footage attributed to 120th Guards Naval Infantry Division UAV crews within the Vostok group. (Source: Воин DV, 2026-09-25 19:44:58; LOW for attribution.)
  • Pro-Russian fundraising: Два майора's appeal for naval-infantry UAV operators on the Druzhkivka direction includes itemized prices, claimed donor counts and bank/payment details; the beneficiary unit, spending and delivery are unverified from the post. (Source: Два майора, 2026-09-25 19:49:43 and 19:49:44; LOW.)
  • Рыбарь digest: The digest lists 25 September materials on the Lyman and Slavyansk directions, a "massive UAV raid on Russia", "hunting the Russian shadow fleet", and Ukrainian population loss, among other topics, without substantive detail in this batch. (Source: Рыбарь, 2026-09-25 20:00:47; LOW.)
  • Russian state media framing: ТАСС relayed a Reuters report that EU states fear weakening support for Kyiv after elections in France and Germany, citing the strengthening of the French National Rally and the German AfD, and separately relayed a Reuters-reported letter from EU energy commissioner Jørgensen urging EU states to cut gas and electricity consumption because of high prices. These are aggregated political-economic items rather than military events. (Sources: ТАСС, 2026-09-25 19:37:01 and 19:49:03; MEDIUM that the items were published.)
  • Domestic legal and penal case: SOTA reported that historian Yuri Dmitriev, 70, was hospitalized from a penal colony with a suspected stroke and transferred to LIU-3, citing ЗПЧ and a source expressing doubt about the quality of his care; SOTA recalls his December 2021 conviction for producing pornography and 15-year sentence, which he disputes. No official Russian confirmation of his condition was supplied. (Source: SOTA, 2026-09-25 19:45:41; LOW / UNCONFIRMED, single-source.)
  • Non-conflict items: Colonelcassad posted about advertising tools being tested in the MAX messenger and about avoiding commercial advertising on his channel, and Дневник Десантника🇷🇺 posted an evening morale greeting. These are channel-level content, not evidence of operations. (Sources: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 19:35:03; Дневник Десантника🇷🇺, 2026-09-25 20:01:01; confidence HIGH that the posts exist.)

Reported Ukrainian activity

  • Ukrainian UGV logistics mission: Оперативний ЗСУ published footage captioned as a ground robotic complex of the Belfut company, 14th Separate Mechanized Brigade, evading an enemy FPV drone strike while carrying out a logistics task and continuing movement. (Source: Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-25 19:59:01 and 19:59:02; MEDIUM for the footage, LOW for the outcome claim.)
  • Air Force track notifications: Two notices of jet-powered UAVs heading toward Mykolaiv Oblast from the Black Sea, issued via the Ukrainian Air Force channel. (Source: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 2026-09-25 19:38:40 and 20:04:50; HIGH for issuance.)
  • Ukrainian company and media damage reporting: РБК-Україна relayed statements about damage to the Cosmonova data centre building and destruction of the "Sushiya" restaurant chain warehouse, with no casualties in the Cosmonova case and no location or date in either case. (Sources: РБК-Україна, 2026-09-25 19:35:05, 19:35:06 and 19:43:18; LOW.)
  • Diplomatic/materiel reporting: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS relayed an unattributed media account that the EU is seeking member states to cede their Patriot missile queue positions to Ukraine, partly via the US PURL mechanism. (Source: ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS, 2026-09-25 19:58:28; LOW / UNCONFIRMED.)
  • Unit morale post: WarArchive published a photo watermarked to 22 ОМБр with a Ukrainian trident and a Ukrainian-language "good night" caption, showing three armed silhouettes at sunset; the post contains no operational specifics. (Source: WarArchive, 2026-09-25 20:04:07 and 20:04:08; MEDIUM for the post, no confidence for unit or location.)
  • Note on prior baseline: Events previously reported in the supplied earlier situation report (Obolon UAV impact, Ivankiv Lyceum No. 2 strike, the Pecherskyi district casualty claim, the General Staff 22:00 update and others) are carried forward as historical baseline only and are not re-reported here as new.

Civilian and infrastructure impact

  • Perm, Russia: A reported UAV attack on the Lukoil-Permnefteorgsintez refinery on the morning of 25 September caused a fire and halted operations; the Perm governor is cited as reporting one person died; a smoke plume was reported over the city. Attribution and the casualty figure rest on Reuters sourcing via ASTRA and an official gubernatorial statement relayed in the post. (Source: ASTRA, 2026-09-25 19:57:01 and 19:57:02; MEDIUM for the fire/halt, LOW for attribution and casualty.)
  • Cosmonova data centre: A company statement relayed by РБК-Україна reports damage to the data centre building with no employees injured and client data secured through geographic redundancy; no service-disruption data, geolocation or date was supplied, and the attached image does not show damage. (Source: РБК-Україна, 2026-09-25 19:35:05 and 19:35:06; LOW / UNCONFIRMED.)
  • "Sushiya" restaurant chain: The chain's warehouse, with all product stocks and packaging, is reported destroyed in a Russian attack, with the company stating it will restore supplies and service quickly; no location, date, casualty figure or imagery was supplied. (Source: РБК-Україна, 2026-09-25 19:43:18; LOW.)
  • Poltava: Video shows a large smoke plume near railway infrastructure with blurred bystanders in the foreground; no casualty figures, official statement or confirmed damage assessment was supplied, and the location is unverified. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 19:55:07 and 19:55:08; LOW.)
  • Detained person's health (Russia): Historian Yuri Dmitriev, 70, is reported hospitalized from a penal colony with a suspected stroke and moved to LIU-3, per SOTA citing ЗПЧ and an unnamed source; this is a domestic penal/health matter, not conflict-related, and has no official confirmation in the batch. (Source: SOTA, 2026-09-25 19:45:41; LOW / UNCONFIRMED.)
  • No new civilian-harm figures for Ukraine in this batch: No new casualty, displacement or service-outage figures for Ukrainian territory were supplied beyond the reported non-casualty data-centre damage and the destroyed restaurant warehouse.

Information environment and disputed claims

  • Russian MoD bulletin as an information product: The "Top News Today" framing uses emotive phrasing ("Mayaki goes dark", "Marines hold the trap shut", "Victory is on the horizon"), relies on a POW interview of inherently unverifiable provenance, and contains no Russian losses or Ukrainian counterclaims. The supplied composite image is branding and does not corroborate any named strike, unit or location. (Source: MoD Russia, 2026-09-25 19:34:44 and 19:34:45; MEDIUM that the bulletin exists, LOW for its claims.)
  • Image–caption mismatch at Cosmonova: The caption describes a damaged data centre building during an "enemy attack", while the attached image shows an intact facility and a person using a phone; the image does not corroborate the claim, and the post carries an aggregator promotional call-to-action. (Source: РБК-Україна, 2026-09-25 19:35:06; LOW.)
  • Ungeolocated strike video from Poltava: The footage is consistent with smoke near railway infrastructure, but the caption's location cannot be confirmed from the image, and the TRUKHA watermark indicates an aggregator channel rather than a primary eyewitness. (Source: Colonelcassad, 2026-09-25 19:55:07 and 19:55:08; LOW.)
  • Secondary sourcing on the Perm refinery: The report relies on Reuters citing two unnamed industry sources, with no Lukoil comment; ASTRA presents itself as both reporter and OSINT verifier, and the supplied photo lacks timestamp, geolocation and visible refinery features. The "fourth refinery in a week" aggregate is a narrative that would require independent outage data. (Source: ASTRA, 2026-09-25 19:57:01 and 19:57:02; MEDIUM overall.)
  • EU political framing from Russian state media: ТАСС's items on European fears of weakened Kyiv support after French and German elections and on Brussels urging gas and electricity savings are Reuters-sourced political-economy reports relayed by a Russian state agency; they are not evidence of battlefield or policy decisions. (Sources: ТАСС, 2026-09-25 19:37:01 and 19:49:03; MEDIUM that the items were published.)
  • Рыбарь digest as agenda-setting: The digest index mentions "the situation on the Lyman and Slavyansk directions", a "massive UAV raid on Russia" and Ukrainian population loss without substantiating content in this batch; it echoes, but does not independently corroborate, the Russian-aligned Lyman commentary carried in the previously supplied report. (Source: Рыбарь, 2026-09-25 20:00:47; LOW.)
  • Competing claims on Dobropolye: The new MoD "liberation of Dobropolye Maloye" and encirclement-blocking claims extend a Russian MoD line that the previously supplied baseline said was contested by an earlier Ukrainian General Staff account of thwarted encirclement in the same sector. This batch contains no new Ukrainian official statement on that sector, so the dispute remains unresolved rather than settled by the new bulletin.
  • Analytic support: The supplied Dempster-Shafer beliefs assign 0.32 to "Uncertainty", 0.28 to "Information Warfare: Propaganda Effort by Ukraine", 0.20 to "Psychological Impact: Morale Boost for Ukraine" and 0.20 to their combination. These are analytic scores only; they are not new facts and do not corroborate any reported event, and their framing is not treated as independent evidence about the material summarized above.

Evidence limitations and unresolved questions

  • All Russian MoD operational claims in this batch — the Sumy/Kharkiv "security zone", the Dobropolye Maloye "liberation", the Mayaki and Svetlichnoye FAB-500 strikes, the defence-industry, logistics and ship strikes, and the Dobropolye encirclement pressure — are single-source, lack coordinates, dates and battle-damage evidence, and have no independent or Ukrainian confirmation in the supplied material.
  • The Perm refinery halt rests on Reuters citing two unnamed industry sources with no company comment; the casualty figure attributed to the Perm governor is relayed but not independently confirmed, and the supplied photo cannot be geolocated or dated.
  • The Poltava strike's location, timing, cause, casualty count and damage extent are all unestablished; only a smoke plume near railway-looking structures is visible.
  • The Cosmonova data-centre damage claim is single-source company messaging relayed by a news outlet, with an attached image that does not depict damage; whether an attack occurred, its date, and any service impact remain unverified.
  • The "Sushiya" warehouse destruction claim supplies no location, date, casualty or damage assessment and has no independent corroboration in this batch.
  • The Zaporizhzhia FPV strike footage does not allow identification of the target, and the 120th Guards Naval Infantry Division attribution is unverified.
  • The Ukrainian UGV "evasion" footage is presented with stylized graphics, and the specific moment of evasion is not shown; whether a Russian FPV drone strike was attempted and missed is unverified.
  • The Dva Majora fundraising appeal's donor counts, collection totals and procurement list are self-reported and cannot be audited from the post; the beneficiary unit's identity and location are unverified.
  • The EU Patriot queue-exchange report relies on unnamed media and an unnamed senior official; no named states, quantities, documents or decisions were supplied.
  • The Yuri Dmitriev hospitalization is a single-source item relayed by SOTA citing ЗПЧ and an unnamed source, with no official Russian confirmation of his condition or care.
  • The two Air Force jet-UAV track notices toward Mykolaiv Oblast supply no interception, impact, damage or all-clear information; silence in other areas of this batch is an evidence gap only and does not establish that those areas are quiet or unchanged.
  • The supplied weather context provides time-qualified numeric observations as of 2026-09-25 20:00 UTC at five reference points near the contact line (for example Kharkiv/Vovchansk 9.5C, clear; Donetsk/Pokrovsk 10.6C, clear; Kherson 14.4C, overcast), but no event in this batch is directly linked to those conditions, and no weather-derived conclusions are drawn here.