Nightwatch
Intelligence archive
Historical intelligence

Situation Report

Archived operational intelligence briefing retained for historical analysis.

Intelligence brief / archived issue

Situation Update (UTC)

Report generated 2026-09-28 07:28 UTC. A previous situation report (06:57 UTC) and a previous daily report were supplied and are used only as historical baseline. New messages in this batch span 2026-09-28 06:57–07:12 UTC; event times are often described only as “overnight” or “morning,” so source timestamps are given where event times are not stated.

Key reported developments

  • Ukrainian OSINT and military-aligned sources claimed that Ukrainian Defense Forces liberated Ridkodub, Nove and Katerynivka and restored control near Novomykhailivka and Lypove, with later reposts citing a DeepState map figure of 40.7 km² and a Lyman-axis “Vivaldi” operation claim of about 41 km²; Ukraine’s Third Army Corps commander additionally claimed 51 km² returned in the latest phase, 176 km² since offensive actions began, 2,000 Russian personnel killed and more than 250 captured (event time not stated; ✙DeepState✙🇺🇦 06:57:01; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:04:24; Николаевский Ванёк 07:06:35; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS 07:12:46; UNCONFIRMED, LOW for territorial-control and loss claims).
  • Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky and Kyiv city authorities reported overnight Russian strikes across multiple regions, including a strike on a Kharkiv high-rise with partial destruction of the second and fourth floors, damage in Kyiv to residential buildings, communications, fuel stations, a café and a market, a vessel under the Palau flag hit in Odesa Oblast, an ice-cream factory damaged in Zhytomyr Oblast, residential damage in Sumy, Rivne, Kharkiv and Odesa regions, and critical-infrastructure attacks in Vinnytsia, Dnipro, Khmelnytskyi and Zaporizhzhia; Zelensky cited 28 injured in Kharkiv including nine children and two killed in Kyiv Oblast including an Azerbaijani citizen (event time described as overnight and morning, precise time not stated; Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; КМВА 07:05:09; РБК-Україна 07:06:06; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:08:01; UNCONFIRMED, LOW for casualty and damage figures, MEDIUM for the fact that Ukrainian officials issued these statements).
  • Kharkiv Mayor Ihor Terekhov reported that as of his statement there were 29 injured in Saltivskyi district, including ten children, and that search-and-rescue work had finished with no one found under the rubble (event time: overnight strike, update time 07:02:40 source timestamp; Ігор Терехов 07:02:40; UNCONFIRMED, LOW for the figure, with the count differing from Zelensky’s cited 28 injured including nine children).
  • Russia’s Ministry of Defence, relayed by a Russian military correspondent, claimed overnight strikes on UkrTelecom and DreamLine data centres in Kyiv, a fuel station in Holosiivskyi district, infrastructure at Vasylkiv military airfield in Kyiv Oblast, the Nova Poshta logistics centre in Odesa Oblast, the Danubeshipservice plant in the port of Izmail and two dry-cargo ships — one in the port of Chornomorsk and one at sea near Odesa — and said explosions occurred in Kyiv, Odesa, Mykolaiv, Dnipropetrovsk, Kharkiv, Poltava and Zhytomyr oblasts and in occupied parts of Donbas and Novorossiya (event time described as the night of 28 September, precise time not stated; Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW — single-source Russian official claim).
  • A pro-Ukrainian aggregator reported a fire at the “Edelweiss-95” oil depot in the stanitsa of Novotitarovskaya, Krasnodar Krai, following a claimed UAV attack, publishing nighttime fire imagery; the fire’s scale is visually consistent with the claim, but the UAV cause, facility identity and exact location are not independently verified (event time: nighttime, precise time not stated; WarArchive 07:00:59 and 07:01:00; MEDIUM for a nighttime fire having been shown, LOW for the UAV cause and “Edelweiss-95” target identity).
  • Russia’s government introduced a moratorium on inspections of commercial facilities damaged by UAV attacks until 1 October 2027, according to Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Grigorenko, with exceptions where inspections are needed for public safety (event time not stated; ASTRA 06:58:39; MEDIUM as a named official’s statement, no independent document supplied).
  • Russia’s Ministry of Defence published footage it said showed T-80BVM tank crews of the 6th Guards Combined Arms Army (Sever Group of Forces) destroying Ukrainian ammunition depots in Kharkiv region; the footage shows a tank firing and an explosion, but the target, location and unit identity rest only on the caption (event time not stated; MoD Russia 07:05:20; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Russian-aligned DIVGEN maps relayed by Colonelcassad claimed Russian gains at Khripuny (+20.3 km²) and near Loshakovo (+7.3 km²) over the past day; the maps are self-produced, undated beyond “past day,” and lack independent geolocation (event time described as past day, precise time not stated; Colonelcassad 07:02:37; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).

Reported situation by area

  • Lyman/Kreminna direction (Donetsk–Luhansk border area). New Ukrainian-aligned messages claim an operation named “Vivaldi” freed Ridkodub, Nove and Katerynivka, restored control near Novomykhailivka and Lypove, and returned about 40.7–41 km². The Third Army Corps account also names Karpivka and Novomykhailivka as recaptured, a slightly different settlement list. The supplied map images are schematic DeepState-style screenshots; they do not carry a visible date, scale or independent geolocation. The claimed Russian losses and prisoner numbers are not independently corroborated (✙DeepState✙🇺🇦 06:57:01; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:04:24; Николаевский Ванёк 07:06:35; STERNENKO 07:07:17; Exilenova+ 07:09:31; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS 07:12:46; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Kharkiv city and Kharkiv Oblast. Ukrainian officials reported a strike on a multi-storey building in Kharkiv with partial destruction of the second and fourth floors. Zelensky cited 28 injured including nine children; Mayor Terekhov later reported 29 injured including ten children in Saltivskyi district and said search-and-rescue had ended. The previous situation report, used only as historical baseline, had cited 27 injured including nine children. Russian MoD footage separately claimed tank strikes on ammunition depots in Kharkiv region (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; Ігор Терехов 07:02:40; MoD Russia 07:05:20; UNCONFIRMED for casualty totals and Russian strike effects, LOW).
  • Kyiv city and Kyiv Oblast. Ukrainian official statements describe drone damage to residential buildings, communications, fuel stations, a café and a market in Kyiv, with emergency-service images showing night firefighting and ladder operations in Kyiv. Russian MoD claims describe hits on UkrTelecom and DreamLine data centres, a Holosiivskyi district fuel station and Vasylkiv airfield infrastructure. The Ukrainian material does not independently confirm the Russian target list, and the Russian material does not independently confirm the Ukrainian damage list (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; КМВА 07:05:09; РБК-Україна 07:06:07; Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW to MEDIUM depending on the specific claim).
  • Odesa Oblast. Zelensky said a vessel under the Palau flag was hit in Odesa Oblast. Russia’s MoD claimed strikes on the Nova Poshta logistics centre, the Danubeshipservice plant in Izmail port and two dry-cargo ships, one in Chornomorsk port and one at sea near Odesa. Ukrainian emergency-service imagery from Odesa shows a firefighter on a ladder in a smoke-filled structure, but no vessel or Palau flag is visible, so the maritime claim remains unverified (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; РБК-Україна 07:06:07; Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Zhytomyr Oblast. Zelensky said an ice-cream factory was damaged. Ukrainian emergency-service photos reported from Zhytomyr show ladder and interior industrial firefighting, consistent with an industrial site response but not confirming the specific facility (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; КМВА 07:05:10; UNCONFIRMED, LOW to MEDIUM for emergency response, LOW for facility identity).
  • Dnipropetrovsk, Poltava, Mykolaiv, Sumy, Rivne, Vinnytsia, Khmelnytskyi and Zaporizhzhia. These locations appear in Zelensky’s list of overnight attacks and in the Russian MoD explosion list, but the supplied Ukrainian photo album does not include imagery for Sumy, Rivne, Vinnytsia, Dnipro, Khmelnytskyi or Zaporizhzhia, and no independent confirmation appears in this batch (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; КМВА 07:05:10; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:08:02; Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Krasnodar Krai, Russia. A nighttime fire was reported at the “Edelweiss-95” oil depot in Novotitarovskaya after a claimed UAV attack; still images show a large nighttime fire, but the cause, facility identity and exact location are not independently verified. This follows the previous baseline’s reports of fires at civilian infrastructure enterprises in Krasnodar Krai districts, which are not re-reported here as new (WarArchive 07:00:59 and 07:01:00; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Zaporizhzhia. The Zaporizhzhia Oblast Military Administration published images of police FPV-drone monitoring, armed patrols and anti-drone netting installation in Zaporizhzhia, saying special detectors help detect threats on approach; no detector model or technical performance evidence is visible (event time not stated; Михайло Семікін - Запорізька ОВА 07:05:42; MEDIUM for the existence of the public communication and visible netting/patrols, LOW for the detector capability claim).

Reported strikes and air-defense activity

  • Ukrainian Air Force channels issued in-flight alerts for jet-powered UAVs: past Vyshhorod toward Kyiv (Obolon) at 06:59:43; past Brovary toward Kyiv at 07:01:19; “Darnytsia” at 07:04:42; and “Zhuliany” at 07:10:04. These are tracking notifications posted at the stated source times, not statements of impact (Повітряні Сили ЗС України / Air Force of the Armed Forces of Ukraine, 06:59:43, 07:01:19, 07:04:42, 07:10:04).
  • The main reported strike effects in this batch are the Ukrainian official accounts of fires, damage and casualties in Kharkiv, Kyiv, Odesa and Zhytomyr regions; the Russian MoD claim of strikes on Kyiv and Odesa Oblast targets; and the claimed UAV-triggered oil-depot fire in Krasnodar Krai. All are attributed claims. No new aggregate air-defense interception tally appears in this batch; earlier interception figures in the previous baseline are not treated as new evidence here.
  • The Ukrainian emergency-service photo album shows night firefighting and rubble rescue in Kyiv, Kharkiv, Zhytomyr and Odesa regions, but it does not show weapons, impact craters, specific addresses or casualty verification, and it contains no imagery for several regions named in the accompanying presidential statement (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:35; КМВА 07:05:10; РБК-Україна 07:06:07; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:08:02; MEDIUM for emergency response in depicted regions, LOW for the full target list).

Reported Russian activity

  • Russia’s Ministry of Defence claimed overnight strikes on Ukrainian data centres, fuel infrastructure, a military airfield and port/logistics targets in Kyiv and Odesa oblasts, and asserted explosions across additional Ukrainian regions; these are Russian official claims, not independently verified outcomes (Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Russia’s Ministry of Defence published footage it said showed T-80BVM tanks of the 6th Guards Combined Arms Army (Sever Group of Forces) destroying Ukrainian ammunition depots in Kharkiv region (MoD Russia 07:05:20; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Russian-aligned DIVGEN maps relayed by Colonelcassad claimed Russian gains at Khripuny and near Loshakovo; the maps are self-produced and lack independent evidence (Colonelcassad 07:02:37; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • The Russian government imposed a moratorium on inspections of businesses damaged by UAV attacks until 1 October 2027, according to Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Grigorenko (ASTRA 06:58:39; MEDIUM as an official statement).
  • A Russian security-service claim relayed by a pro-Russian channel alleged that London has expanded work with Russian opposition abroad and that all such persons are known to counterintelligence; this is a single-source FSB-aligned claim, not independently corroborated (Поддубный |Z|О|V| edition 06:59:04; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • A pro-Russian fundraising channel sought 3.04 million rubles for drones, repeaters, generators, laptops and radios for the 33rd Guards Motorized Rifle Regiment on the Druzhkivka axis, claiming 123,812 rubles collected in 24 hours and 501 participants; the fundraising post is internally consistent but self-reported (Два майора 07:00:57; MEDIUM for the existence of the fundraising appeal, LOW for collection totals and unit deployment).
  • A pro-Russian military channel published a promotional post about drones and infantry in a future/ongoing fight for the Slavyansko-Kramatorsk agglomeration, using a stylised collage rather than documentary evidence (Рыбарь 07:05:00; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).

Reported Ukrainian activity

  • Ukrainian OSINT and military-aligned sources claimed territorial gains in the Lyman direction under the “Vivaldi” operation, including the liberation of Ridkodub, Nove and Katerynivka and restored control near Novomykhailivka and Lypove; the Third Army Corps account additionally claimed 51 km² returned in the latest phase, 176 km² since offensive actions began, 2,000 Russian personnel killed and more than 250 captured, and described using Soviet-origin BTR-60 vehicles converted into robotic kamikaze complexes (✙DeepState✙🇺🇦 06:57:01; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:04:24; Николаевский Ванёк 07:06:35; STERNENKO 07:07:17; Exilenova+ 07:09:31; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS 07:12:46; UNCONFIRMED, LOW for territorial and loss claims).
  • Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky issued a nationwide statement listing overnight attack damage and casualties and appealing for air-defense, energy and budget support; the statement is an official Ukrainian claim (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; КМВА 07:05:09; РБК-Україна 07:06:06; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:08:01; MEDIUM for the statement having been issued, LOW for its unverified details).
  • Kharkiv Mayor Ihor Terekhov reported 29 injured including ten children in Saltivskyi district and said search-and-rescue had ended with no one found under the rubble (Ігор Терехов 07:02:40; UNCONFIRMED, LOW; figure differs from Zelensky’s cited 28 injured including nine children).
  • Zaporizhzhia Oblast authorities publicised police FPV-drone monitoring, armed patrols and anti-drone netting installation in Zaporizhzhia (Михайло Семікін - Запорізька ОВА 07:05:42; MEDIUM for the public communication, LOW for detector capability).
  • A Ukrainian official quoted by Russian-aligned channels said Ukraine is preparing for a possible internet blackout due to strikes on data centres and telecommunications infrastructure, with some infrastructure being buried, moved to cloud storage or physically taken abroad; the quoted official is named inconsistently in the supplied messages (Военкор Котенок 06:59:47; Операция Z 07:08:54; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS 07:04:40; UNCONFIRMED, LOW to MEDIUM depending on attribution).
  • Ukrainian media and official channels also relayed advice that some residents, specifically people with limited mobility and people with disabilities, should consider alternative winter housing because of the risk of long blackouts; the statement is attributed to a prime minister whose name is disputed in the supplied material (ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS 07:04:40; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).

Civilian and infrastructure impact

  • Kharkiv. A strike on a multi-storey building partially destroyed the second and fourth floors, according to Zelensky; Ukrainian emergency-service imagery shows rubble rescue and damaged apartment interiors. Zelensky cited 28 injured including nine children; Mayor Terekhov reported 29 injured including ten children in Saltivskyi district and said search-and-rescue had finished. Fatalities were mentioned by Zelensky without a number for Kharkiv in the quoted text (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; Ігор Терехов 07:02:40; UNCONFIRMED, LOW for casualty totals).
  • Kyiv city and Kyiv Oblast. Reported damage includes residential buildings, communications infrastructure, fuel stations, a café and a market in Kyiv, according to Ukrainian official statements; Zelensky said two people were killed in Kyiv Oblast, one of them an Azerbaijani citizen. Russian MoD claims separately describe hits on data centres, a fuel station and Vasylkiv airfield infrastructure. Emergency-service photos show night firefighting and ladder operations in the Kyiv area but do not independently confirm every listed target or casualty (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; КМВА 07:05:09; РБК-Україна 07:06:07; Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW to MEDIUM for emergency response, LOW for specific damage and casualties).
  • Odesa Oblast. Zelensky said a vessel under the Palau flag was hit. The Russian MoD claimed strikes on a logistics centre, a shipyard plant in Izmail port and two dry-cargo ships. Ukrainian emergency-service imagery from Odesa shows firefighting at a damaged structure but does not show a vessel or flag, leaving the maritime claim unverified (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Zhytomyr Oblast. Zelensky said an ice-cream factory was damaged; emergency-service images from Zhytomyr show industrial firefighting but do not confirm the facility’s identity (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; КМВА 07:05:10; UNCONFIRMED, LOW to MEDIUM for the fire response, LOW for the facility claim).
  • Other Ukrainian regions. Zelensky listed damage to residential buildings in Sumy, Rivne, Kharkiv and Odesa regions and attacks on critical infrastructure in Vinnytsia, Dnipro, Khmelnytskyi and Zaporizhzhia. The supplied photo album provides no imagery for Sumy, Rivne, Vinnytsia, Dnipro, Khmelnytskyi or Zaporizhzhia, so those claims remain unverified in this batch (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:08:02; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Krasnodar Krai, Russia. A nighttime fire at the claimed “Edelweiss-95” oil depot in Novotitarovskaya, Krasnodar Krai, was reported after a claimed UAV attack; still images show a large nighttime fire but do not confirm the cause or facility identity (WarArchive 07:00:59 and 07:01:00; UNCONFIRMED, LOW for cause and identity).
  • Service continuity. Ukrainian officials and Russian-aligned channels reported preparations for possible internet outages and long blackouts, including data-centre protection measures, cloud or physical relocation of data, and advice for some residents to arrange alternative winter housing. These are attributed statements about contingency planning, not confirmed service outages in this batch (Военкор Котенок 06:59:47; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS 07:04:40; Операция Z 07:08:54; UNCONFIRMED, LOW to MEDIUM depending on the specific statement).

Information environment and disputed claims

  • Casualty-count discrepancy. Kharkiv casualty figures differ across the batch: Zelensky cited 28 injured including nine children; Mayor Terekhov reported 29 injured including ten children in Saltivskyi district. The previous baseline had cited 27 injured including nine children; that earlier figure is historical context, not independent corroboration (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:34; Ігор Терехов 07:02:40; previous situation report baseline).
  • Attribution dispute over Ukraine’s prime minister. Russian-aligned messages refer to “Koretsky” as the Ukrainian prime minister, while an embedded assessment attached to one of those messages names Yulia Svyrydenko and cites a TCH interview. The supplied material does not resolve the correct attribution; the name should be treated as unverified (Военкор Котенок 06:59:47; ЦАПЛІЄНКО_UKRAINE FIGHTS 07:04:40; Операция Z 07:08:55).
  • Partisan territorial claims. DeepState and Ukrainian military-aligned accounts present the “Vivaldi” operation and territorial gains as Ukrainian successes; Russian-aligned DIVGEN maps claim separate Russian gains at Khripuny and Loshakovo. Neither side’s map product is independently corroborated in this batch (✙DeepState✙🇺🇦 06:57:01; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:04:25; Николаевский Ванёк 07:06:36; Colonelcassad 07:02:38).
  • Russian official targeting justifications. The Russian MoD’s descriptions of UkrTelecom and DreamLine data centres, Vasylkiv airfield, Nova Poshta logistics, Danubeshipservice, and dry-cargo ships as military-relevant targets are claims. The supplied Ukrainian material does not confirm that those specific facilities had military functions (Военкор Котенок 07:09:07; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Embedded English-language analytic assessments. Many supplied messages include appended English assessments that describe red flags, reliability and follow-up collection. These are commentary about the source material and are not independent corroboration of the underlying events. Some contain proposed collection steps that are outside this report’s public retrospective scope.
  • FSB claim about foreign opposition activity. The FSB-aligned claim that London is consolidating Russian opposition abroad and that all such persons are known to counterintelligence is a single-source security-service narrative, not independently verified (Поддубный |Z|О|V| edition 06:59:04; UNCONFIRMED, LOW).
  • Pro-Russian morale and fundraising messaging. The DIVGEN map claims, the Rybar “battle for the small sky” post, and the 33rd Guards fundraising appeal use morale-oriented framing typical of pro-war channels; their operational assertions are not independently corroborated (Colonelcassad 07:02:38; Рыбарь 07:05:01; Два майора 07:00:58).
  • Ukrainian official framing. Ukrainian official statements use emotive descriptions of civilian targets (“ordinary café,” “ordinary ice-cream factory,” attempted burning of a food market) and close with appeals for air-defense, energy and budget support. These are official Ukrainian communications and should be treated as attributed advocacy as well as reporting (Zelenskiy / Official 07:01:35; КМВА 07:05:10; Оперативний ЗСУ 07:08:02).

Evidence limitations and unresolved questions

  • No previous situation report or daily report is treated as independent corroboration. The previous baseline is useful only for showing that some claims, such as Kharkiv casualty counts and Russian strike lists, have evolved since 06:57 UTC.
  • Most territorial, casualty, damage, strike and equipment claims in this batch are single-source or reposts of the same originating claim. Repeated quotations by multiple channels are not independent corroboration.
  • No precise event timestamps, geolocation metadata or impact evidence are supplied for the Kharkiv, Kyiv, Odesa, Zhytomyr, Sumy, Rivne, Vinnytsia, Dnipro, Khmelnytskyi, Zaporizhzhia or Krasnodar Krai incidents. Emergency-service images carry regional watermarks but no visible geotags or timestamps.
  • The Ukrainian official photo album visually supports emergency response in Kyiv, Kharkiv, Zhytomyr and Odesa regions only; it does not cover several other regions named in the accompanying presidential statement, and it does not confirm the Palau-flag vessel claim or the ice-cream factory identity.
  • The Russian MoD strike list for Kyiv and Odesa oblasts is not confirmed by Ukrainian official or independent reporting in this batch. Whether the named data centres, airfield infrastructure, logistics centre, shipyard plant or dry-cargo ships served military functions remains unresolved.
  • The reported Ukrainian territorial gains around Ridkodub, Nove, Katerynivka, Novomykhailivka and Lypove are unverified by independent imagery or Russian acknowledgement. The exact area figure, whether 40.7 km² is new or cumulative, and the differing settlement lists remain unresolved.
  • The claimed Russian losses and prisoner numbers in the Third Army Corps account are unverified and unusually specific. No independent source in this batch confirms the 2,000 killed or 250-plus captured figures.
  • No new aggregate air-defense interception figures or missile/drone launch totals appear in this batch. Earlier figures from the previous baseline are not carried forward as new evidence.
  • The supplied weather context contains time-qualified numeric observations at 07:15 UTC for several frontline reference points, but no supplied message links those observations to specific events; they are not used here to infer operational effects.
  • The supplied analytic belief set assigns 1.0 to “Uncertainty.” It is treated only as analytic support and not as evidence about any event.
  • Unrelated non-conflict items in the batch — including the Yuri Dmitriev prison-hospital report, the SOTA item about the NAZA film, the Fighterbomber podcast advertisement, the RBC-Ukraine EU accession roadmap claim, and the Russian Health Ministry surgical-care draft order — do not establish events in the Russo-Ukrainian war and are not summarized as conflict developments here.