Nightwatch
Intelligence archive
Historical intelligence

Situation Report

Archived operational intelligence briefing retained for historical analysis.

Intelligence brief / archived issue

Situation Update (UTC)

No previous situation report or daily report was supplied; this summary is based only on the messages listed below. Timestamps are the Telegram post times supplied; event times are often not stated, so they are distinguished where possible.

Key reported developments

  • Russian-installed official in the occupied part of Zaporizhzhia Oblast, Yevhen Balitsky, via ASTRA, reported 3 killed and 3 wounded in Ukrainian attacks: Vasylivka city (woman born 1990 killed, her 16-year-old daughter wounded), Polohiv municipal district (woman born 1964 killed in attack on a private home), near Ivanivka in Berdiansk municipal district (man killed in attack on a civilian car), Prymorsk municipal district (man born 1994 wounded near Orlivka and Berdianske), Mykhailivka municipal district (ambulance car hit by UAV), and NovoHorivka in Tokmak municipal district (man born 1969 wounded in attack on a private home). (Event time not stated; ASTRA, 2026-09-26 12:24:26; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian milblogger channel “Операция Z”/Русская Весна claimed strikes on an “Epicenter” shopping facility in Odesa and, earlier in the morning, a logistics vehicle parking area; it posted footage described as smoke plumes and burning trucks, with watermarks from Odesa OVA/OdesaINFO. No casualties were provided. (Event time described as earlier morning 2026-09-26, exact time not stated; Операция Z, 2026-09-26 12:26:31/12:26:32; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Ulyanovsk city administration media reported a residential building damaged by a UAV attack, with crews reinforcing structures, clearing debris, inspecting apartments for compensation, and restoring gas; water, sewage, and electricity were reported working. (Event time not stated; Треш Ульяновск, 2026-09-26 12:27:40/12:27:41; MEDIUM for local administration statements, LOW for underlying attack cause.)
  • Ukrainian Telegram channel “Zvиздец Мангусту” assessed the Orikhiv-Zaporizhzhia axis as of evening 2026-09-25: Russian 58th Combined Arms Army offensive operations continued, with Russian forces not yet reaching stated near approaches to Zaporizhzhia city or breaking into Orikhiv; Ukrainian forces reportedly blocked or cleared small Russian infantry groups in Orikhiv, Novoandriivka, Mala Tokmachka, and other tactical rear areas, while Russian groups remained in some forest belts and along the dried Kakhovka reservoir. (Event time as of evening 2026-09-25, exact time not stated; Zvиздец Мангусту, 2026-09-26 12:29:01/12:33:01/12:37:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian MoD, relayed by “Поддубный |Z|О|V| edition,” claimed capture of Petropavlivka and Lozova in Kharkiv Oblast and Maryino in Sumy Oblast by “North” group units, naming 69th Motor Rifle Division, 128th Separate Motor Rifle Brigade, and 80th Separate Motor Rifle Brigade. No Ukrainian confirmation was included. (Event time not stated; Поддубный, 2026-09-26 12:48:54; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Ukrainian Air Force posted alerts for KAB glide bombs toward Donetsk Oblast, a missile toward Sumy Oblast, jet-powered UAVs toward Ladyzhyn and Turbiv in Vinnytsia Oblast, jet-powered UAVs along the Belarus border in Chernihiv Oblast heading west, and UAVs toward Kharkiv and Sumy from the north. No interception or impact results were provided. (Alert times 2026-09-26 12:26:43–12:50:42; Повітряні Сили ЗС України; MEDIUM for the alerts as official posts; outcomes unconfirmed.)
  • Russian milblogger “Два майора” claimed Ukrainian Army.TV and Novyny.LIVE were off air after strikes on Kyiv data centers, posting Ukrainian outage notices; the Ukrainian notices attributed outages to Russian attacks/technical problems, while the Russian post framed them as successful Russian strikes. (Event time not stated; Два майора, 2026-09-26 12:47:51/12:47:52; MEDIUM for reported outages, LOW for Russian strike-cause framing.)
  • Ukrainian channel “Оперативний ЗСУ,” citing Militarnyi, reported the 7th Air Assault Corps began tasks in the Huliaipole direction, previously responsible for Pokrovsk direction, with the stated purpose of reducing Russian offensive potential and stabilizing the sector. (Event time not stated; Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-26 12:45:09; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)

Reported situation by area

  • Zaporizhzhia Oblast: ASTRA relayed Russian-installed official claims of 3 killed and 3 wounded in several occupied districts and settlements, including Vasylivka, Polohiv, near Ivanivka, Prymorsk, Mykhailivka, and NovoHorivka. Separately, “Zvиздец Мангусту” described continuing Russian offensive activity in the Orikhiv-Zaporizhzhia sector and claimed Ukrainian forces had reduced Russian small infantry groups in several tactical rear locations. Both accounts are single-source and not independently corroborated in this batch.
  • Odesa Oblast: Russian milblogger claims of strikes on the “Epicenter” facility and a logistics vehicle area in Odesa, with no casualty or damage assessment from Ukrainian authorities in the supplied messages. The final target identification rests on Russian captions, while the footage was described as carrying Ukrainian local watermarks.
  • Donetsk Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force alerts reported KAB glide bombs toward Donetsk Oblast. Russian MoD released video material from the Dobropolye direction claiming drone interception and strikes on command posts; the footage was a composite and the specific effects were not independently verified.
  • Sumy Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force reported a missile alert toward Sumy Oblast and UAVs toward Sumy from the north. Russian MoD, relayed by “Поддубный,” claimed capture of Maryino in Sumy Oblast; no Ukrainian confirmation was included.
  • Kharkiv Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force reported UAVs toward Kharkiv from the north. Russian MoD, relayed by “Поддубный,” claimed capture of Petropavlivka and Lozova in Kharkiv Oblast; no Ukrainian confirmation was included.
  • Vinnytsia Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force reported jet-powered UAVs toward Ladyzhyn and Turbiv from the southeast.
  • Chernihiv Oblast: Ukrainian Air Force reported jet-powered UAVs in the north along the Belarus border heading west.
  • Kyiv city: Russian milblogger “Два майора” claimed a strike on Business Center Protasov at coordinates 50.4251761, 30.5054226, and claimed Ukrainian Army.TV and Novyny.LIVE outages after strikes on Kyiv data centers. Ukrainian outage notices cited Russian attacks/technical problems; no independent confirmation of specific strike effects was supplied.
  • Ulyanovsk Oblast, Russia: Local administration media reported a residential building damaged by a UAV attack and described restoration work, including structural supports, debris clearing, compensation inspections, planned window replacement, and ongoing gas restoration. The attack time and cause were not independently established.
  • Kursk Oblast, Russia: “Дневник Десантника” posted a photo of a burning Orthodox church in Korenevo and attributed the fire to Ukrainian shelling; the post said emergency services were working and damage was being clarified. No independent verification of location, date, cause, or perpetrator was included.
  • Latvia: “Colonelcassad” relayed Italian MoD information that four Italian soldiers were wounded in a friendly-fire incident during a NATO live-fire exercise, when one armored vehicle came under fire from another, both Italian. Separately, “Alex Parker Returns” claimed unknown persons cut cables and disabled border surveillance cameras on Latvia’s border with Russia and Belarus, citing the head of the Border Guard; this claim was not independently corroborated.
  • Bilhorod-Dnistrovskyi, Odesa Oblast: RBC-Ukraine reported an unknown person stabbed a TCC serviceman during notification measures; the victim was hospitalized in stable condition, the attacker fled, and police were searching. The accompanying image was a generic Odesa Oblast TCC official-notice graphic and did not independently confirm the incident.

Reported strikes and air-defense activity

  • Russian milblogger “Операция Z”/Русская Весна claimed strikes on an “Epicenter” shopping facility and a logistics vehicle parking area in Odesa, posting footage described as smoke and burning trucks. No casualty counts were provided, and the specific target identification was not independently confirmed. (2026-09-26 12:26:31/12:26:32; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian milblogger “Два майора” claimed a strike on Business Center Protasov in Kyiv at coordinates 50.4251761, 30.5054226. The post provided no date/time, munition type, casualty, or damage assessment, and the video content was not independently verified in the supplied batch. (2026-09-26 12:44:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian milblogger “Два майора” claimed Ukrainian Army.TV and Novyny.LIVE were off air due to strikes on Kyiv data centers. Ukrainian outage notices indicated service disruptions and attributed them to Russian attacks or technical problems; the broader Russian claim of successful strikes was an interpretation, not independently confirmed. (2026-09-26 12:47:51/12:47:52; MEDIUM for reported outages, LOW for cause.)
  • Ukrainian Air Force posted alerts for KAB glide bombs toward Donetsk Oblast, a missile toward Sumy Oblast, jet-powered UAVs toward Ladyzhyn and Turbiv in Vinnytsia Oblast, jet-powered UAVs along the Belarus border in Chernihiv Oblast, and UAVs toward Kharkiv and Sumy from the north. These were alerts, not confirmed impacts or interceptions. (2026-09-26 12:26:43–12:50:42; MEDIUM for the alerts, outcomes unconfirmed.)
  • Russian MoD released video it described as Tsentr Group UAV teams intercepting hostile air threats and eliminating command posts with equipment in the Dobropolye direction. The footage was a composite with no independent confirmation of location, target type, or effects. (2026-09-26 12:50:57/12:50:58; UNCONFIRMED/LOW for specific claims.)
  • Russian-installed official Yevhen Balitsky, via ASTRA, attributed multiple attacks in occupied Zaporizhzhia Oblast to Ukrainian forces, including UAV and other attacks on civilian vehicles, homes, and an ambulance. The casualty figures and attribution were single-source. (2026-09-26 12:24:26; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Дневник Десантника” attributed a fire at an Orthodox church in Korenevo, Kursk Oblast, to Ukrainian shelling. No independent verification of the cause or circumstances was supplied. (2026-09-26 12:39:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)

Reported Russian activity

  • “Zvиздец Мангусту” reported that Russian 58th Combined Arms Army units, part of the “Dnipro” group, continued offensive operations in the Orikhiv-Zaporizhzhia direction, attempting to reach areas near Zaporizhzhia city and enter Orikhiv. The same source claimed Russian forces had not yet achieved those objectives as of evening 2026-09-25 and described Russian assault groups remaining in some forest belts and along the dried Kakhovka reservoir. (2026-09-26 12:29:01/12:33:01/12:37:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian MoD, relayed by “Поддубный |Z|О|V| edition,” claimed “North” group units captured Petropavlivka and Lozova in Kharkiv Oblast and Maryino in Sumy Oblast, attributing the actions to named motor rifle formations. No Ukrainian confirmation was provided. (2026-09-26 12:48:54; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian MoD claimed Tsentr Group UAV teams in the Dobropolye direction intercepted hostile air threats and struck command posts with equipment, supported by composite video. Specific effects were not independently verified. (2026-09-26 12:50:57/12:50:58; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Два майора,” citing TsAST/BMPD, reported Russian Su-57 production totals and a claimed first 2026 batch, stating 48 aircraft in service. The accompanying photo showed a factory airframe and did not independently confirm a delivery. (2026-09-26 12:40:24/12:40:25; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Colonelcassad” relayed Italian MoD information about a friendly-fire incident during a NATO exercise in Latvia involving Italian armored vehicles, which wounded four Italian soldiers. This was not described as Russian activity but was posted by a Russian-aligned channel. (2026-09-26 12:25:03; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)

Reported Ukrainian activity

  • Ukrainian Air Force issued multiple air-threat alerts for KAB glide bombs, a missile, and UAVs across Donetsk, Sumy, Vinnytsia, Chernihiv, and Kharkiv areas. No results or interceptions were reported in the supplied messages. (2026-09-26 12:26:43–12:50:42; MEDIUM for the alerts.)
  • “Zvиздец Мангусту” claimed Ukrainian forces in the Orikhiv-Zaporizhzhia direction conducted search and raid actions in their tactical rear, reducing Russian small infantry groups in Orikhiv, Novoandriivka, and Mala Tokmachka, and continued to hold northern Plavni, a railway station, the “Kiltse” road junction, and a section along the E-105 road. These claims were single-source. (2026-09-26 12:29:01/12:33:01/12:37:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Оперативний ЗСУ,” citing Militarnyi, reported the 7th Air Assault Corps began tasks in the Huliaipole direction after previously being responsible for the Pokrovsk direction, with the stated aim of reducing Russian offensive potential and stabilizing the sector. (2026-09-26 12:45:09; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • RBC-Ukraine reported the Ukrainian Cabinet approved new military conflict-of-interest rules, including reporting obligations no later than the next working day and commander-level resolution, with updated anti-corruption restrictions. No decree number or official document link was supplied. (2026-09-26 12:37:04/12:37:05; UNCONFIRMED/MEDIUM.)
  • “Сили оборони Півдня України” announced a new Army+ course on psychological preparation for combat conditions, describing five modules on stress, acute reactions, first psychological aid, fear management, and resilience, with AR/VR lessons. The course details were from the post and promotional image, not independently verified. (2026-09-26 12:31:02/12:31:03; UNCONFIRMED/MEDIUM.)
  • RBC-Ukraine reported an unknown attacker stabbed a TCC serviceman in Bilhorod-Dnistrovskyi during notification measures; the victim was hospitalized in stable condition, the attacker fled, and police searched for him. The report was single-source and the attached image was a generic official-notice graphic. (2026-09-26 12:46:49/12:46:50; UNCONFIRMED/MEDIUM.)

Civilian and infrastructure impact

  • In the occupied part of Zaporizhzhia Oblast, Russian-installed official Yevhen Balitsky, via ASTRA, reported civilian deaths and injuries, including a woman killed and her 16-year-old daughter wounded in Vasylivka; a woman killed in Polohiv municipal district; a man killed near Ivanivka in Berdiansk municipal district; a man wounded in Prymorsk municipal district; an ambulance car struck in Mykhailivka municipal district; and a man wounded in NovoHorivka, Tokmak municipal district. These figures were single-source and not independently corroborated. (2026-09-26 12:24:26; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • In Ulyanovsk, local administration media reported a residential building damaged by a UAV attack, with restoration work including structural supports, debris clearing, compensation inspections, planned window replacement, and ongoing gas restoration; water, sewage, and electricity were reported working. (2026-09-26 12:27:40/12:27:41; MEDIUM for administration statements, LOW for attack cause.)
  • In Odesa, Russian milblogger footage was described as showing smoke plumes and burning trucks near commercial/industrial areas, with the “Epicenter” facility named as a target. No civilian casualty or damage assessment was provided. (2026-09-26 12:26:31/12:26:32; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • In Korenevo, Kursk Oblast, a Russian Telegram channel posted an image of a burning Orthodox church and claimed Ukrainian shelling caused the fire; emergency services were reported working and damage was being clarified. No independent verification was supplied. (2026-09-26 12:39:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • In Kyiv, Russian milblogger claims of a strike on Business Center Protasov and strikes on data centers supporting Ukrainian broadcasters were posted. Ukrainian outage notices indicated service disruptions for Army.TV and Novyny.LIVE, attributed to Russian attacks or technical problems. No casualty or comprehensive damage assessment was provided. (2026-09-26 12:44:01/12:47:51/12:47:52; UNCONFIRMED/LOW for strike effects, MEDIUM for reported outages.)
  • In Bilhorod-Dnistrovskyi, Odesa Oblast, a TCC serviceman was reportedly stabbed during notification measures; he was hospitalized in stable condition, and the attacker fled. The report was single-source. (2026-09-26 12:46:49/12:46:50; UNCONFIRMED/MEDIUM.)

Information environment and disputed claims

  • Russian milblogger “Операция Z”/Русская Весна used footage carrying Ukrainian local watermarks to support claims of strikes on Odesa’s “Epicenter” and a logistics vehicle area. The presence of Ukrainian watermarks indicates aggregation of local footage and does not independently verify the Russian target claims or effects. (2026-09-26 12:26:31/12:26:32; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian MoD and “Поддубный” claims of capturing Petropavlivka, Lozova, and Maryino lack Ukrainian confirmation in the supplied messages. The claims are attributed to Russian official and Russian-aligned sources and remain unverified here. (2026-09-26 12:48:54; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Zvиздец Мангусту” posted the same Orikhiv-Zaporizhzhia assessment three times in the batch. Repetition is not independent corroboration. The assessment is a single-source partisan/OSINT account with detailed claims about Russian and Ukrainian positions. (2026-09-26 12:29:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • Russian milblogger “Два майора” framed Ukrainian broadcaster outages as the result of successful Russian strikes on Kyiv data centers. Ukrainian outage notices cited Russian attacks or technical problems but did not confirm the same scope or cause claimed by the Russian channel. (2026-09-26 12:47:51/12:47:52; MEDIUM for outages, LOW for cause framing.)
  • “Дневник Десантника” framed a church fire in Korenevo as a deliberate Ukrainian attack on Orthodox and civilian objects. The claim was emotive, single-source, and not independently verified. (2026-09-26 12:39:01; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Alex Parker Returns” claimed unknown persons cut cables and disabled border surveillance cameras on Latvia’s border with Russia and Belarus, citing the Border Guard head. No independent corroboration was supplied. (2026-09-26 12:25:23; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Colonelcassad” relayed Italian MoD information about a NATO exercise friendly-fire incident in Latvia. The incident was reported as an accident involving Italian units, but no independent confirmation was included in the batch. (2026-09-26 12:25:03; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • RBC-Ukraine’s report of a stabbing of a TCC serviceman in Bilhorod-Dnistrovskyi was single-source, with a generic official-notice image that did not independently confirm the incident details. (2026-09-26 12:46:49/12:46:50; UNCONFIRMED/MEDIUM.)
  • “Два майора,” citing TsAST/BMPD, reported Su-57 production figures and a claimed 2026 batch. The accompanying factory photo did not independently confirm a delivery or the stated totals. (2026-09-26 12:40:24/12:40:25; UNCONFIRMED/LOW.)
  • “Сили оборони Півдня України” posted a promotional announcement for an Army+ psychological preparation course. The course details and claimed 30+ courses in the app were text-based and not independently verified. (2026-09-26 12:31:02/12:31:03; UNCONFIRMED/MEDIUM.)

Evidence limitations and unresolved questions

  • No previous situation report or daily report was supplied, so no cumulative sector baseline is available. Areas not mentioned in this batch are not established to be quiet or unchanged.
  • Many key claims are single-source and lack independent corroboration, including casualty figures from occupied Zaporizhzhia Oblast, Russian MoD capture claims, Russian strike claims on Odesa and Kyiv, Ukrainian Air Force alert outcomes, and the Orikhiv-Zaporizhzhia assessment.
  • Event times are frequently missing or only broadly described. Several posts give only the Telegram message timestamp, not the time of the reported event.
  • No independent confirmation was supplied for the cause of the Ulyanovsk UAV damage, the Korenevo church fire, the Bilhorod-Dnistrovskyi stabbing, the Latvia border cable/camera cuts, or the NATO exercise friendly-fire incident.
  • No casualty or damage assessments were supplied for the claimed Odesa “Epicenter” strike, the claimed Kyiv Business Center Protasov strike, or the reported Kyiv data-center outages.
  • No weather context and no belief-model scores were supplied, so no numeric weather or analytic belief inputs are included.
  • Repeated posts of the same assessment or claim in this batch are not independent corroboration; several messages also contain embedded analytic commentary that was not treated as independent evidence.