Nightwatch
Intelligence archive
Historical intelligence

Situation Report

Archived operational intelligence briefing retained for historical analysis.

Intelligence brief / archived issue

Situation Update (UTC)

Anchor: 2026-09-24T19:10:49Z. This edition extends the prior situation report anchored at 2026-09-24T18:38:46Z, which is used only as a labeled baseline; all source timestamps below are message timestamps in UTC on 2026-09-24 unless stated. Where the source states an event time it is given; otherwise the event time is unknown. Numbers are reported only as claimed by the cited source.

Key reported developments

  • Ukrainian General Staff operational update as of 22:00 local (19:00 UTC) 24 September states 185 combat clashes since start of day; Russia conducted 1 missile strike, 43 air strikes, dropped 173 guided aerial bombs, used 4,118 kamikaze drones and carried out 1,869 shellings of settlements and positions. Highest reported engagement counts: Pokrovsk direction 27 repelled attacks, Kostiantynivka direction 17, Kupiansk and Lyman 4 each, Huliaipole 5, North Slobozhansk and Kursk directions 5. Self-reported Ukrainian figures, not independently corroborated (event time stated as 22:00 local 24 Sep; source: Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00–19:05:01, MEDIUM).
  • Odesa: the State Emergency Service (DSNS) reported a Russian strike caused a fire in the attic of a five-story residential building (extinguished), damaged a residential building and a non-residential building, and destroyed a truck; three people including a child were reported injured. DSNS video shows firefighting at a residential building but does not visually confirm the casualty figure or the weapon type (event date reported as 24 Sep, exact time not given; sources: ASTRA relaying DSNS, 18:59:01–18:59:02, HIGH for the event, LOW for the casualty count).
  • Oleshky, Kherson oblast (BBC, relayed): residents reported eating wild plants, single daily meals, closed shops, and no electricity, gas or water since the Kakhovka HPP destruction; occupation authorities reportedly do not permit burial of people killed by drones, mines or other violent causes without a Russian doctor's autopsy, and some bodies reportedly remained unburied since December. A couple was reported killed by a drone strike on 20 September while returning from Radensk with food, confirmed by four separate sources to BBC. A local volunteer's list of about 1,200 dead was not independently verified by BBC; the UN confirmed at least 29 killed and 54 injured civilians in Oleshky and Hola Prystan this year (event date of report 24 Sep, one incident dated 20 Sep; source: STERNENKO relaying BBC, 19:01:40, MEDIUM).
  • Kyiv's claim of Russian winter strike documents: RBC-Ukraine attributes to Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal a statement that Ukraine knows what and which energy facilities Russia will strike, and that Ukrainian special services obtained Russian documents on the winter campaign specifying targets, quantities and weapons, with separate plans for Kyiv, Odesa and Kharkiv. No document excerpts, dates, or systems are shown; the post's own attached assessment rates it LOW (event reported 24 Sep; source: РБК-Україна, 19:02:26–19:02:27, LOW).
  • Ceasefire proposal: RBC-Ukraine reports a call for a "comprehensive" ceasefire extending beyond energy to a maritime truce, framed as including food security and opening a grain corridor. The headline attributes the statement to Shmyhal while the body text attributes it to the energy minister on a telethon — an unresolved attribution ambiguity (source: РБК-Україна, 19:04:39, LOW for specifics, MEDIUM that a statement of this kind was made).
  • France reportedly transferred MICA air-to-air missiles and 30 mm ammunition for Mirage 2000 jets, per the French Ministry of the Armed Forces and Veterans Affairs as cited by a Ukrainian channel. No official French link, quantities, variant (RF/IR), or delivery timeline are provided; the attached photo shows a Mirage 2000-family aircraft in Ukrainian livery but no missiles or ammunition (source: Оперативний ЗСУ, 18:46:19–18:46:20, MEDIUM).
  • Ukrainian Air Force evening alerts (claimed current activity): UAVs in Chernihiv oblast near Horodnya and Snovsk on a southwest and south course; jet-powered UAVs transiting the Chernobyl exclusion zone toward Zhytomyr oblast; and guided aerial bombs (KABs) on Zaporizhzhia oblast and Donetsk region (sources: Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 18:59:24, 19:01:21, 19:02:08, HIGH for the alerts being issued; no intercept or impact results stated).
  • Russian milblogger operational summaries: a long Krasny Liman-area summary claims continued Russian strikes on Ukrainian logistics, infantry, UAV points and infiltration groups around Krasny Liman, Kirovsk, Nikanorovka, Starodubivka and related settlements, saying infiltration groups are "not everywhere eliminated" (source: Colonelcassad, 19:01:01, LOW). A separate Rybar daily digest claims Russian forces continue advancing on several directions, the "Sever" grouping is shrinking the encircled area near Vovchansk, the grey zone is expanding on the East Zaporizhzhia direction, and Ukrainian counterattacks are intensifying on the Sloviansk direction (source: Рыбарь, 19:01:38, LOW).

Reported situation by area

  • Kharkiv oblast / Vovchansk direction (Russian claim): Rybar's digest asserts the "Sever" grouping is reducing the encircled area and "liberating" settlements; no locations, dates, units or imagery beyond a talking-head digest are supplied (Рыбарь, 19:01:38, LOW). A separate Ukrainian-channel video attributed to the "Rubaka" unit of the 77th Separate Airmobile Brigade claims dozens of Russian soldiers killed near Kruhlyakivka (Kruglyakivka), Kharkiv oblast; the clip is about two seconds long, dominated by a unit logo, and shows no soldiers, impacts or bodies (БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 18:41:01–18:41:02, LOW). Weather at Kharkiv/Vovchansk at 19:00 UTC was 10.5C, mainly clear, cloud 18%, wind 0.9 m/s (weather context, 2026-09-24T19:00 UTC).
  • Kupiansk direction (Ukrainian claim): four Russian assaults reported repelled near Podoly, Kivsharivka and Novoospynove, two engagements ongoing (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, MEDIUM).
  • Lyman and Sloviansk directions (Ukrainian and Russian claims): Ukrainian General Staff reports four Russian attempts repelled near Drobysheve, Lyman, Nadiya and Shyikivka, one engagement ongoing, and one Russian assault stopped near Pyskunivka. Colonelcassad's Russian summary describes ongoing Russian activity against logistics and infantry along the Krasny Liman–Kirovsk axis and claims Ukrainian infiltration attempts were repeatedly intercepted, while stating the situation remains difficult in places (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, MEDIUM; Colonelcassad, 19:01:01, LOW). Rybar separately claims Ukrainian counterattacks are intensifying on the Sloviansk direction (Рыбарь, 19:01:38, LOW).
  • South Slobozhansk direction (Ukrainian claim): five Russian assaults reported near Lyman, Mala Vovcha and Ternova, one engagement ongoing. Note: the "Lyman" named here is distinct from Lyman in Donetsk oblast as named in Ukrainian General Staff reporting; the source does not disambiguate (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, MEDIUM).
  • North Slobozhansk and Kursk directions (Ukrainian claim): five Russian attacks reported repelled near Mala Slobidka, Bila Bereza, Korenka, Rivne and Kindrativka (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, MEDIUM).
  • Kostiantynivka direction (Ukrainian claim): 17 Russian assaults reported repelled near Kostiantynivka, Novoselivka, Illinivka, Osykove, Torske, Mykolaipillia and Novopavlivka, one engagement ongoing (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, MEDIUM).
  • Pokrovsk direction (Ukrainian claim): 27 Russian attacks reported repelled, two ongoing; Russia reportedly tried to advance near Kucheriv Yar, Sofiivka, Rodynske, Dorozhne, Novyi Donbas, Svitlе, Dobropillia, Vasylivka, Serhiivka, Molodetske and Novopavlivka. Ukrainian General Staff claims 37 Russian troops killed and 14 wounded in this direction during the day, plus destroyed and damaged vehicles, artillery, UAV control points, an ammunition depot and shelters — precise self-reported tallies with no independent confirmation (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, LOW for the tally, MEDIUM for the report being issued).
  • Huliaipole direction (Ukrainian claim): five Russian attacks reported near Vozdvyzhivka, Rivne and Charivne, one engagement ongoing (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, MEDIUM).
  • Kramatorsk, Oleksandrivka, Orikhiv and Prydniprovskyi directions (Ukrainian claim): no Russian offensive actions reported. This is a Ukrainian General Staff statement about this reporting window, not evidence that nothing occurred (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00, MEDIUM).
  • Odesa oblast: a Russian strike on 24 September reportedly caused a residential-building attic fire, damage to residential and non-residential buildings and destruction of a truck in Odesa; exact location within the city not given (ASTRA relaying DSNS, 18:59:01–18:59:02, HIGH for the event).
  • Kherson oblast (Oleshky and Hola Prystan): BBC reporting describes a prolonged supply cutoff and unburied bodies; casualty figures are attributed and qualified as above (STERNENKO relaying BBC, 19:01:40, MEDIUM).
  • Chernihiv and Zhytomyr oblasts and the Chernobyl exclusion zone: Ukrainian Air Force alerts only; no impacts or interceptions were reported in this batch (Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 18:59:24, 19:02:08).
  • Russia–Georgia border, Verkhny Lars, North Ossetia–Alania: the ASTRA item already carried in the previous situation report was re-supplied with expanded detail: North Ossetia head Sergey Menyailo reportedly ordered cleanup of the border-entry area, new asphalt, barrier fencing and toilets in the buffer zone, and removal of dozens of abandoned cars including from 2022 to responsible storage, with an album showing derelict vehicles and trash. The images do not independently establish that the vehicles belonged to 2022 emigrants or that they are at the exact border buffer zone; the reported 20,000+ daily crossings figure in mid-August relies on secondary reporting (previously reported; source: ASTRA, 18:37:16, MEDIUM-HIGH for the visual evidence, LOW for the 2022-origin and traffic claims as presented).
  • Germany (unrelated to the current front): SOTA reports Dortmund prosecutors opened an investigation into a 105-year-old man suspected of complicity in killings of Soviet prisoners of war while serving as a guard at Stalag 326 VI K near Senne; the camp held 180,000–200,000 Soviet POWs from 1941 to April 1945, with many dying from starvation, disease, conditions and forced labor. His name was withheld and no completion timeline was given (source: SOTA, 18:39:46, MEDIUM for the prosecution announcement, LOW for the historical figures as presented).

Reported strikes and air-defense activity

  • Russian strike volume claim (Ukrainian): one missile strike, 43 air strikes, 173 guided aerial bombs, 4,118 kamikaze drones used and 1,869 shellings of settlements and positions since start of day on 24 September. These are exceptionally high self-reported figures and no intercept totals, launch counts, or independently corroborated impact data accompany them (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00–19:05:01, LOW for the figures, MEDIUM that the statement was issued).
  • Air-defense alert activity (Ukrainian): the Ukrainian Air Force issued alerts for UAVs in Chernihiv oblast near Horodnya and Snovsk on a southwest and south course; for jet-powered UAVs passing through the Chernobyl exclusion zone toward Zhytomyr oblast; and for guided aerial bombs on Zaporizhzhia oblast and Donetsk region. No intercept or damage results were stated in these messages (Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 18:59:24, 19:01:21, 19:02:08, HIGH for the alerts, no strike-effect claims).
  • Odesa strike (Ukrainian DSNS, via ASTRA): already-reported strike effect — attic fire in a five-story residential building, extinguished; damage to a residential building and a non-residential building; one truck destroyed; three injured including a child claimed. The video does not show the impact, the weapon type, or the casualty count (ASTRA relaying DSNS, 18:59:01–18:59:02, HIGH for the fire and response, LOW for the casualty count).
  • Russian milblogger strike claims (Krasny Liman area): Colonelcassad's summary claims Russian pilots and artillery destroyed Ukrainian infantry, UAV points and logistics targets in and around Krasny Liman, Kirovsk, Nikanorovka, Starodubivka, Sosnove and related settlements, and claims strikes on Ukrainian UAV points and drone crews. No damage assessments, coordinates, imagery or independent confirmation are supplied (Colonelcassad, 19:01:01, LOW).
  • Ukrainian drone-strike claim (Kharkiv oblast): БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС relays a "Rubaka" unit (77th Separate Airmobile Brigade) video claiming dozens of Russian soldiers killed near Kruhlyakivka, mostly by drones. The included clip is ~2 seconds, logo-obscured, and shows a grassy field with no visible casualties or impacts; the post's own attached assessment rates the evidence LOW (БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 18:41:01–18:41:02, LOW).
  • No air-defense intercept totals, missile counts, or drone-launch totals for the evening were supplied in this batch. Any such figures would require separate sourcing.

Reported Russian activity

  • Colonelcassad Krasny Liman summary: describes Russian operations on the Sloviansk and Krasny Liman axes involving the 20th Combined Arms Army, 1st Tank Army, 3rd Guards Combined Arms Army and 25th Combined Arms Army. Claims include work against Ukrainian logistics from Kramatorsk and Sloviansk toward Semenivka, Vysokoivanivka, Mykolaivka and Orikhivka; strikes on Ukrainian infantry moving along the Izium–Artemivsk highway toward Nykanorivka and Krasny Molochar; engagement of Ukrainian groups in Krasny Liman, Kirovsk, Starodubivka, Pyskunivka and the Stavky pocket; and repeated interception of small Ukrainian infantry groups crossing the Siverskyi Donets toward Dibrova, Yampil and the Medove rail area. States infiltration groups are not everywhere eliminated and that the situation remains difficult in places (Colonelcassad, 19:01:01, LOW).
  • Rybar digest claims: Russian forces continuing offensive actions on multiple directions, the "Sever" grouping shrinking the encirclement near Vovchansk, grey-zone expansion on the East Zaporizhzhia direction, and intensifying Ukrainian counterattacks on the Sloviansk direction. The same digest also contains unrelated international items (a detained Israeli Hasid sent to serve in the rear, drug-trafficking routes, and a Trump statement on Latin American cartels), which are not military developments on the Ukrainian front (Рыбарь, 19:01:38, LOW).
  • Fundraising appeal: Дневник Десантника published a collection request for an assault company and UAV unit, seeking one Mavic 3 Pro, four Matrix 4T devices, and fifteen 2.5 kW generators, with a target of 1,510,000 rubles, 22,416 rubles claimed collected, and a stated remaining target of 1,003,411 rubles; it uses a personal Sberbank card and phone-linked SBP transfer under the name "Татьяна А.Р." and references the Zaporizhzhya direction. Legitimacy is not established by the content (Дневник Десантника🇷🇺, 19:01:01, LOW).
  • Fighterbomber photo post: a still image of at least three silhouetted military helicopters, at least one bearing a "Z" marking, captioned "Отбой!" (stand down/all clear). No location, unit, date or geolocation cues are visible; the caption's operational meaning is uncertain (Fighterbomber, 19:03:18–19:03:19, LOW).
  • No new Russian Ministry of Defence-attributed claim of territorial capture appears in this batch; the MoD claims carried in the previous report (Dobropolye Maloye, Svetlaya Dolina, Buzovo, Khizhnyakovo) remain unverified.

Reported Ukrainian activity

  • Ukrainian General Staff reporting: 185 combat clashes, defensive actions across North Slobozhansk, Kursk, South Slobozhansk, Kupiansk, Lyman, Sloviansk, Kostiantynivka, Pokrovsk and Huliaipole directions, with detailed Pokrovsk-direction casualty and equipment claims. These are Ukrainian self-reports not independently corroborated (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00–19:05:01, MEDIUM for the reported defensive actions, LOW for the specific tallies).
  • Ukrainian Air Force alert activity: the alerts for UAVs in Chernihiv oblast, jet-powered UAVs transiting the Chernobyl exclusion zone toward Zhytomyr oblast, and KAB warnings for Zaporizhzhia oblast and Donetsk region (Повітряні Сили ЗС України, 18:59:24, 19:01:21, 19:02:08, HIGH for the alerts being issued).
  • "Rubaka" unit drone video: attributed by БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС to the RUBpAK "Rubaka" of the 77th Separate Airmobile Brigade, claiming strikes on Russian personnel near Kruhlyakivka, Kharkiv oblast; visual evidence does not support the caption's claims (БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 18:41:01, LOW).
  • Ukrainian government statements relayed by RBC-Ukraine: the claim that Ukrainian special services obtained Russian documents detailing winter energy-strike plans, including separate plans for Kyiv, Odesa and Kharkiv; and the call for a comprehensive ceasefire including maritime arrangements and a grain corridor. Attribution of the second statement is ambiguous between the prime minister and the energy minister (РБК-Україна, 19:02:26, 19:04:39, LOW).
  • France–Ukraine transfer claim: a Ukrainian military-focused channel reports France delivered MICA air-to-air missiles and 30 mm ammunition for Mirage 2000 jets, citing the French Ministry of the Armed Forces and Veterans Affairs. The transfer is claimed, not demonstrated; the photo does not show the munitions (Оперативний ЗСУ, 18:46:19–18:46:20, MEDIUM).

Civilian and infrastructure impact

  • Odesa: a Russian strike reportedly set fire to the attic of a five-story residential building (extinguished), damaged a residential building and a non-residential building, and destroyed a truck; three people including a child were reported injured. Weapon type and impact time are not stated; casualty count is not independently confirmed (ASTRA relaying DSNS, 18:59:01–18:59:02, HIGH for the event, LOW for the casualty count).
  • Oleshky, Kherson oblast: BBC reporting describes a town effectively cut off from supplies since May, non-functioning shops, and no electricity, gas or water since the Kakhovka HPP destruction; residents reportedly eating wild plants and some eating once a day; travel for food is described as life-threatening, with a couple reportedly killed by a drone strike on 20 September returning from Radensk with food. Occupation authorities reportedly require a Russian doctor's autopsy before burial of violent deaths, leaving some bodies unburied for months; the volunteer's list of about 1,200 dead is unverified; the UN confirmed at least 29 killed and 54 injured civilians in Oleshky and Hola Prystan this year (STERNENKO relaying BBC, 19:01:40, MEDIUM).
  • Cross-cutting energy-infrastructure concern (claimed): RBC-Ukraine reports Ukrainian officials say Russian documents outline winter strikes on named energy facilities and separate plans for Kyiv, Odesa and Kharkiv. No documents, dates or systems are shown; this is a claim about planned future impact, not a report of damage that has occurred (РБК-Україна, 19:02:26–19:02:27, LOW).
  • Russia–Georgia border (Verkhny Lars): reported state order to clean the entry area, repave, install barriers and toilets, and remove dozens of abandoned cars from 2022 to storage; reported 20,000+ crossings in a single day in mid-August (previously reported, expanded; ASTRA, 18:37:16, MEDIUM for the order, LOW for traffic figure).
  • No civilian casualty figures, displacement data, or utility-outage reports for the broader front were supplied in this batch apart from Odesa and Oleshky. The General Staff update does not itemize civilian harm.

Information environment and disputed claims

  • Ukrainian General Staff figures: extremely high drone (4,118) and shelling (1,869) counts are self-reported with no corroborating evidence in this batch; the post's own attached assessment flags a date anomaly (24.09.2026 vs. 09.05.2026 in internal assessment text) and the unusually high figures. The image attached is a branded title card with no map or geolocation (Генеральний штаб ЗСУ, 19:05:00–19:05:01, LOW for the figures, MEDIUM that the statement was issued).
  • Rubaka video caption vs. visual content: the caption uses sensational language ("incredible, crazy massacre," "dozens") and political commentary blaming the war on Putin, while the ~2-second clip shows a grassy field obscured by a unit logo with no visible casualties or impacts. The caption's location and casualty claims are not verified by the imagery (БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 18:41:01–18:41:02, LOW).
  • Shmyhal energy-strike-documents claim: relayed via a Ukrainian outlet with an official portrait but no documents, excerpts, named officials, weapon types or dates; the post's own assessment rates it LOW and notes potential morale, deterrence or information-operation purposes (РБК-Україна, 19:02:26–19:02:27, LOW).
  • Ceasefire statement attribution: the RBC-Ukraine headline attributes the comprehensive-ceasefire idea to Shmyhal while the body text attributes it to the energy minister; this ambiguity is unresolved in the supplied text (РБК-Україна, 19:04:39, LOW).
  • France–Ukraine transfer: a single-source secondary report citing a named ministry, with no official French document, quantities, variant or delivery timeline; the illustrative photo shows a Mirage 2000-family aircraft in Ukrainian livery but no munitions. The post's own assessment rates it MEDIUM (Оперативний ЗСУ, 18:46:19–18:46:20, MEDIUM).
  • Rybar digest framing: mixes frontline claims (Vovchansk, East Zaporizhzhia, Sloviansk counterattacks) with unrelated international narratives (Israeli Hasid detained at the border, drug-trafficking routes, U.S. cartel policy). The frontline claims are asserted without imagery, coordinates or unit identification (Рыбарь, 19:01:38, LOW).
  • Colonelcassad Krasny Liman summary: uses emotive and motivational language ("with God, men," "Glory to Russia"), characterizes some claimed Ukrainian reports of intense fighting as "virtual in the net," and provides no imagery or geolocation; it is a single Russian-side account with no independent corroboration (Colonelcassad, 19:01:01, LOW).
  • Donation appeal red flags: personal Sberbank card and phone-linked SBP transfer under an individual's name, a "for SVO needs" comment instruction, and religious-militarized framing; legitimacy or fraud are neither established nor refuted by the content (Дневник Десантника🇷🇺, 19:01:01, LOW).
  • BBC Oleshky reporting: relies on resident testimony and photography supplied by residents; the volunteer's ~1,200 figure was explicitly not independently verified by BBC, while the UN's 29 killed / 54 injured figure is a lower, corroborated figure from a separate source (STERNENKO relaying BBC, 19:01:40, MEDIUM).
  • Dempster-Shafer analytic support in the supplied input assigns the largest belief mass to "Uncertainty" (0.593) and small masses to the specific hypotheses in this batch; it does not corroborate any factual claim and is treated here only as an indication that the supplied evidence is inconclusive.

Evidence limitations and unresolved questions

  • No independent, non-Russian and non-Ukrainian corroboration exists in this batch for the Ukrainian General Staff figures, the Colonelcassad Krasny Liman narrative, the Rybar digest claims, or the Rubaka drone video claims.
  • The Odesa casualty count of three injured including a child is stated by DSNS via ASTRA and is not visually confirmed; the weapon type, exact address and impact time are not supplied. Whether air defenses engaged the strike is not stated.
  • The claimed Russian winter energy-strike documents have no excerpts, named officials, document metadata, dates or systems. Whether such documents exist, whether they are authentic or altered, and what they actually specify remain unresolved.
  • The comprehensive-ceasefire proposal lacks clarity on who said it, the venue, and any counterparty or formal status; the RBC-Ukraine text's attribution ambiguity is unresolved.
  • The France MICA/30 mm transfer lacks an official French source link, quantities, MICA variant, delivery date, or imagery of the munitions; the accompanying photo is illustrative only.
  • The Oleshky reporting cannot independently establish the ~1,200 death figure cited by the local volunteer; the UN figure of 29 killed and 54 injured applies to Oleshky and Hola Prystan together this year and is a floor, not a total.
  • The Verkhny Lars item cannot independently establish that the abandoned vehicles belonged to 2022 emigrants or that they are at the exact border buffer zone; the Menyailo order and the 20,000+ daily crossings figure rely on secondary reporting.
  • The General Staff update contains an internal date anomaly flagged in its own attached assessment (24.09.2026 vs. 09.05.2026) and extremely high drone/shelling counts; the specific Pokrovsk vehicle, artillery, depot and shelter tallies are unverified.
  • The afternoon's previously reported items — the claimed Starlink ground-station fire in Poland, the Russian MoD "liberation" claims for Dobropolye Maloye, Svetlaya Dolina, Buzovo and Khizhnyakovo, the Rutte troop-deployment statement, and the Zelensky "Anchorage" claim — receive no new evidence in this batch and remain as previously characterized.
  • Areas absent from this batch are not established to be quiet or unchanged; silence in the supplied messages is an evidence gap, not a finding of calm.