Nightwatch
Intelligence archive
Historical intelligence

Situation Report

Archived operational intelligence briefing retained for historical analysis.

Intelligence brief / archived issue

Situation Update (UTC)

Key reported developments

  • Kyiv city – injury toll restated at eight, three hospitalized: РБК-Україна, citing Kyiv Mayor Vitali Klitschko, reported the number of injured from hostile shelling in Kyiv rose to eight, with three hospitalized and the others treated outpatient or on site. Event time not stated; source timestamp 2026-09-22 16:46:54 UTC; HIGH for the official statement as relayed.
  • Donetsk Oblast, Dobropolye – Russian encirclement claim: Kotsnews claimed the Russian “Center” group closed an operational encirclement of the Dobropolye node and moved on toward Aleksandrovka, citing the Russian Ministry of Defense; it said parts of the 4th and 15th National Guard brigades and the 425th assault regiment “Skala” were in the pocket and that roads west and toward Svyatogorovka were under fire. No independent geolocation or Ukrainian confirmation was supplied. Event time not stated; Kotsnews, 2026-09-22 16:45:01 UTC; LOW.
  • Kharkiv Oblast, Zapadne – Ukrainian control-restoration claim: Оперативний ЗСУ cited DeepState that the Defense Forces returned control in the Zapadne area, Kharkiv Oblast, and said assault troops of the 23rd OShP «Р.У.Г.» had recently operated there, with new video attached. The map/video were not independently verifiable from the supplied material. Event time not stated; Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-22 17:00:01 and 17:00:02 UTC; LOW.
  • Ukraine – “Snizhna Panda” warehouse reported destroyed again: Оперативний ЗСУ quoted the press service of toilet-paper manufacturer “Snizhna Panda” saying Russians had again completely destroyed its warehouse; STERNENKO relayed a screenshot of the company’s post saying the warehouse complex was destroyed on 22 September and that people were alive and unharmed; РБК-Україна reported the same claim with a photo described as firefighters battling a large blaze. No location, year, weapon, or independent damage assessment was supplied. Event date stated as 22 September, year not given; sources 2026-09-22 16:46:34, 16:49:34, and 16:56:28 UTC; MEDIUM for the company statement, LOW for strike details.
  • Zhytomyr – reported factory fire: Colonelcassad claimed the German-owned Kromberg & Schubert plant in Zhytomyr, which produced automotive electrical equipment, was burning “right now.” No cause, damage assessment, or casualty information was supplied. Event time described only as “right now”; Colonelcassad, 2026-09-22 16:50:41 UTC; LOW.
  • Greenland – reported US-Denmark-Greenland agreement: Операция Z relayed Russian-language channels claiming President Trump signed a trilateral agreement with Denmark and Greenland on military presence, including two new US military bases and mechanisms to block Russian and Chinese investment; the attached video showed a signing ceremony involving Trump, Danish Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen, and a Greenlandic representative. ТАСС separately reported the agreement allows the US to modernize and expand the Pituffik base and create two new bases, with additional bases only by consent. Event time not stated; Операция Z, 2026-09-22 16:34:01 and 16:34:02 UTC; ТАСС, 2026-09-22 16:36:06 UTC; MEDIUM for the reported signing, LOW for specific clauses.
  • Russia – four-year mobilization anniversary claims: Военкор Котенок relayed Oleg Tsarev marking four years since the 21 September 2022 partial mobilization, saying Decree No. 647 remains in force, that 300,000 received summons and closed the front in autumn 2022, and that mobilized personnel still lack rotation; the author denied a new mass “гребенка” round-up and said specialists continue to be recruited. The attached image showed an excerpt of Decree No. 647. Referenced event date 21 September 2026; source timestamp 2026-09-22 16:42:22 and 16:42:23 UTC; MEDIUM for the decree date/number as shown, LOW for personnel claims.
  • Ukraine – jet-powered UAV advisories: The Ukrainian Air Force reported new groups of jet-powered UAVs north of Chernihiv Oblast; a jet UAV on Kropyvnytskyi from the east; Kyiv Oblast with a jet UAV past Dymer toward Kyiv; a jet UAV in southern Mykolaiv Oblast heading north; a jet UAV on Kyiv from the north; and Kyiv Oblast with a jet UAV toward Vasylkiv. No intercept results were supplied. Advisory times 2026-09-22 16:38:38, 16:41:49, 16:46:43, 16:47:58, 16:50:37, and 16:56:11 UTC; MEDIUM/HIGH for the advisories.

Reported situation by area

  • Kyiv city and Kyiv Oblast (new evidence): РБК-Україна restated the Kyiv injury toll at eight with three hospitalized. Оперативний ЗСУ and КМВА issued yellow-level danger and air-raid warnings over drone threat. Air Force advisories reported jet-powered UAVs past Dymer toward Kyiv and toward Vasylkiv, and one on Kyiv from the north. No intercept counts or damage assessments were supplied. (РБК-Україна, 2026-09-22 16:46:54 UTC; Оперативний ЗСУ, 16:50:24 UTC; КМВА, 16:50:49 UTC; Air Force, 16:46:43, 16:50:37, and 16:56:11 UTC; HIGH for official casualty statement, MEDIUM/HIGH for advisories)
  • Donetsk Oblast (new claim): Kotsnews claimed the Russian “Center” group closed an operational encirclement of Dobropolye, cited the Russian MoD, named Ukrainian units allegedly in the pocket, and said logistics routes were under fire. БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС separately relayed a Ukrainian claim by the SIGNUM battalion, 59th SBS brigade, of 23 strikes on Russian logistics vehicles in temporarily occupied Donbas in one compilation video. Neither claim was independently verified in the supplied messages. (Kotsnews, 2026-09-22 16:45:01 UTC; БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 17:01:01 and 17:01:02 UTC; LOW)
  • Kharkiv Oblast (new claim): Оперативний ЗСУ cited DeepState claiming Ukrainian forces restored control near Zapadne, with the 23rd OShP «Р.У.Г.» active there. The attached map and video did not independently confirm the control change, and no direct DeepState link or timestamp was supplied. (Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-22 17:00:01 and 17:00:02 UTC; LOW)
  • Zhytomyr Oblast (new report): Colonelcassad claimed the Kromberg & Schubert factory in Zhytomyr was burning. No cause was stated, and no independent confirmation or casualty/damage assessment was supplied. (Colonelcassad, 2026-09-22 16:50:41 UTC; LOW)
  • Volyn Oblast (new allegation): Colonelcassad published video and a caption alleging an attempted forced mobilization in Novovolynsk, showing a street brawl involving men in camouflage, at least two apparent firearms, a van, and a Ukrainian National Police vehicle arriving later. The attached assessment said the location watermark was “novovolynsk.info” but that the forced-mobilization context rests on the caption. (Colonelcassad, 2026-09-22 16:39:58 and 16:39:59 UTC; MEDIUM for the footage, LOW for the stated context)
  • Sumy Oblast (new appeal): Северный канал published a missing-person appeal for Russian serviceman Ruslan Berdiev, callsign Dankov, 34th Separate Motorized Rifle Brigade, last in contact on 8 March 2026 and last online on the evening of 10 March 2026, reportedly in Sumy Oblast moving toward Ryasne. The appeal and attached photos were not independently verified. (Северный канал, 2026-09-22 16:55:25 and 16:55:26 UTC; LOW/MEDIUM)
  • Other areas: Areas absent from this batch are not established to be quiet or unchanged. A previous situation report and previous daily report were supplied as baseline; their items are not re-reported here as new.

Reported strikes and air-defense activity

  • Kyiv and northern/central Ukraine: Ukrainian Air Force advisories reported jet-powered UAVs north of Chernihiv Oblast, on Kropyvnytskyi from the east, past Dymer toward Kyiv, in southern Mykolaiv Oblast heading north, on Kyiv from the north, and toward Vasylkiv. Оперативний ЗСУ and КМВА issued drone-threat alerts for Kyiv. No intercept results, weapon types, or impact assessments were supplied. (Air Force, 2026-09-22 16:38:38, 16:41:49, 16:46:43, 16:47:58, 16:50:37, and 16:56:11 UTC; Оперативний ЗСУ, 16:50:24 UTC; КМВА, 16:50:49 UTC; MEDIUM/HIGH)
  • “Snizhna Panda” warehouse: Ukrainian sources claimed a Russian strike on 22 September completely destroyed the company’s warehouse complex for a second time. The company statement, relayed by STERNENKO and reported by РБК-Україна, said workers were alive and unharmed; a photo showed firefighters at a large blaze, but it did not independently confirm the actor, target, date, or “second strike” claim. (Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-22 16:46:34 UTC; STERNENKO, 16:49:34 and 16:49:35 UTC; РБК-Україна, 16:56:28 and 16:56:29 UTC; LOW/MEDIUM)
  • Occupied Donbas – Ukrainian drone claim: БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС relayed a Ukrainian claim that pilots of the SIGNUM battalion, 59th SBS brigade, hit 23 targets on Russian logistics routes in temporarily occupied Donbas in one video, including trucks, KamAZ vehicles, semi-trailers, logging trucks, pickups, UAZs, a tractor towing a tank, and a mobile fire group. No frames were available in the supplied material to verify the count or locations. (БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 2026-09-22 17:01:01 and 17:01:02 UTC; LOW/MEDIUM)
  • Russian FPV strike footage: АРХАНГЕЛ СПЕЦНАЗА published FPV footage said to show a strike on a target in vegetation near a destroyed building, with the caption claiming continued destruction of enemy infantry. The attached assessment said the video appears authentic combat footage but the target identity as infantry is unverified and no personnel are visible. (АРХАНГЕЛ СПЕЦНАЗА, 2026-09-22 16:31:16 and 16:31:17 UTC; MEDIUM for footage authenticity, LOW for target identity)
  • 40th Naval Infantry Brigade anniversary footage: Воин DV published a compilation for the 108th anniversary of the 40th Guards Naval Infantry Brigade, with attached assessment describing FPV drone operations and a vehicle marked with a red cross at 0:03. The assessment said visual evidence of unit affiliation is strong but that the context of the strikes, including the red-cross vehicle, raises verification and ethical questions. (Воин DV, 2026-09-22 16:31:42 and 16:31:43 UTC; MEDIUM for footage, LOW for context and any legal characterization)
  • Zhytomyr factory fire: Colonelcassad reported the Kromberg & Schubert plant burning, but did not state a cause or attribute it to a strike. No independent confirmation was supplied. (Colonelcassad, 2026-09-22 16:50:41 UTC; LOW)

Reported Russian activity

  • Dobropolye encirclement claim: Kotsnews, citing the Russian Ministry of Defense, claimed Russian forces closed the Dobropolye pocket, named Ukrainian National Guard and assault units allegedly inside, and described logistics routes as under fire. It also asserted that no continuous infantry ring exists and that drones, artillery, and reconnaissance replace it. (Kotsnews, 2026-09-22 16:45:01 UTC; LOW)
  • Mobilization anniversary messaging: Военкор Котенок relayed Oleg Tsarev’s claims on the fourth anniversary of the 21 September 2022 partial mobilization, including that Decree No. 647 remains in force, that 300,000 were summoned, that mobilized personnel have no rotation, and that Russia could field one million people if needed. The author denied a new mass round-up and emphasized specialist recruitment. (Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-22 16:42:22 and 16:42:23 UTC; MEDIUM for decree number/date as shown, LOW for personnel claims)
  • Foreign recruitment allegations: МОБИЛИЗАЦИЯ relayed allegations that Russian structures use Facebook and Google to recruit foreigners, targeting young men from poorer countries with offers of security, construction, or film work, sometimes leading to military contracts; it cited a claim of at least 89 linked sites, a $15,000 signing payment, and a $3,000 monthly salary, and attached a screenshot of a Facebook casting ad that linked to “RUS-VISIT-FREE.RU.” This was an unverified allegation. (МОБИЛИЗАЦИЯ, 2026-09-22 16:35:32 and 16:35:33 UTC; LOW)
  • Rubicon Center statistics: Центр «РУБИКОН» claimed its official channel published over 49,000 combat episodes and gave a target-type breakdown, including 46.2% unmanned systems, 13.6% communications/surveillance, 18.2% ground fortified targets, and smaller shares for vehicles, armor, personnel, artillery, and infrastructure. The attached image was symbolic artwork, not documentary evidence. (Центр «РУБИКОН», 2026-09-22 16:56:29 and 16:56:30 UTC; LOW)
  • Russian FPV unit footage: АРХАНГЕЛ СПЕЦНАЗА published FPV strike footage and claimed methodical destruction of enemy infantry. The attached assessment said the target identity was unverified. (АРХАНГЕЛ СПЕЦНАЗА, 2026-09-22 16:31:16 and 16:31:17 UTC; MEDIUM for footage, LOW for target identity)
  • 40th Naval Infantry Brigade propaganda compilation: Воин DV celebrated the brigade’s 108th anniversary with FPV strike footage; the attached assessment noted a text-visual mismatch and said the footage was a combat montage rather than a documentary record of the anniversary. (Воин DV, 2026-09-22 16:31:42 and 16:31:43 UTC; MEDIUM for footage, LOW for framing)
  • Missing serviceman appeal: Северный канал published an appeal for Russian serviceman Ruslan Berdiev, 34th Separate Motorized Rifle Brigade, missing in Sumy Oblast after March 2026. The appeal was not independently verified. (Северный канал, 2026-09-22 16:55:25 and 16:55:26 UTC; LOW/MEDIUM)

Reported Ukrainian activity

  • Kyiv official casualty update: РБК-Україна relayed Mayor Vitali Klitschko’s statement that eight people were injured in Kyiv, three hospitalized. (РБК-Україна, 2026-09-22 16:46:54 UTC; HIGH for the official statement as relayed)
  • Air Force advisories: The Ukrainian Air Force issued multiple jet-powered UAV advisories for Chernihiv, Kropyvnytskyi, Kyiv Oblast, Mykolaiv Oblast, and Kyiv city. No intercept totals were supplied. (Air Force, 2026-09-22 16:38:38, 16:41:49, 16:46:43, 16:47:58, 16:50:37, and 16:56:11 UTC; MEDIUM/HIGH)
  • Zapadne control claim: Оперативний ЗСУ cited DeepState that Ukrainian forces restored control near Zapadne, Kharkiv Oblast, and said the 23rd OShP «Р.У.Г.» recently operated there. The attached map and video were not independently verified. (Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-22 17:00:01 and 17:00:02 UTC; LOW)
  • “Snizhna Panda” company statement: The manufacturer said its warehouse complex was completely destroyed on 22 September for a second time and that no workers were hurt. (Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-22 16:46:34 UTC; STERNENKO, 16:49:34 and 16:49:35 UTC; РБК-Україна, 16:56:28 and 16:56:29 UTC; MEDIUM for company statement, LOW for strike details)
  • Sybiha sanctions statement: РБК-Україна reported Foreign Minister Andrii Sybiha condemned the removal of Russian oligarchs Alisher Usmanov and Mikhail Fridman from the EU sanctions list, called it shameful and unjustified, and urged European countries to impose national sanctions against the two. The EU removal itself was not independently verified in the supplied material. (РБК-Україна, 2026-09-22 16:59:44 and 16:59:45 UTC; MEDIUM for the statement, LOW for the EU removal claim)
  • SIGNUM drone claim: БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС relayed a Ukrainian claim that SIGNUM battalion, 59th SBS brigade, struck 23 Russian logistics vehicles in occupied Donbas in one video. No visual verification was supplied. (БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 2026-09-22 17:01:01 and 17:01:02 UTC; LOW/MEDIUM)
  • Novovolynsk incident: Colonelcassad published video of a street brawl in Novovolynsk and claimed it showed a thwarted forced mobilization; the footage showed men in camouflage, apparent firearms, a van, and later a Ukrainian National Police vehicle. The context was not independently verified. (Colonelcassad, 2026-09-22 16:39:58 and 16:39:59 UTC; MEDIUM for footage, LOW for context)

Civilian and infrastructure impact

  • Kyiv city: Eight people were reported injured, three hospitalized, after hostile shelling; no independently verified damage assessment was supplied for the locations involved. (РБК-Україна, 2026-09-22 16:46:54 UTC; HIGH for official statement as relayed)
  • “Snizhna Panda” warehouse: The company said its warehouse complex was completely destroyed on 22 September for a second time and that workers survived unharmed. No location, damage value, or independent confirmation was supplied. (Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-22 16:46:34 UTC; STERNENKO, 16:49:34 and 16:49:35 UTC; РБК-Україна, 16:56:28 and 16:56:29 UTC; MEDIUM for company statement, LOW for strike details)
  • Zhytomyr: Colonelcassad claimed the Kromberg & Schubert automotive electrical plant was burning. No cause, casualties, or damage assessment was supplied. (Colonelcassad, 2026-09-22 16:50:41 UTC; LOW)
  • Novovolynsk, Volyn Oblast: Video showed a street brawl involving apparent firearms and a police response; the caption alleged an attempted forced mobilization. No casualties were reported in the supplied material, and the context remains unverified. (Colonelcassad, 2026-09-22 16:39:58 and 16:39:59 UTC; MEDIUM for footage, LOW for context)
  • Dobropolye and occupied Donbas: No independently verified civilian harm or infrastructure damage figures were supplied in this batch for the Dobropolye encirclement claim or the SIGNUM strike claim. (Kotsnews, 2026-09-22 16:45:01 UTC; БУТУСОВ ПЛЮС, 17:01:01 and 17:01:02 UTC; LOW)

Information environment and disputed claims

  • Dobropolye encirclement: Kotsnews presented the Russian MoD claim as reducing the “fog of war,” but no independent geolocation, Ukrainian acknowledgement, or closed-encirclement imagery was supplied. The claim remains single-source and partisan. (Kotsnews, 2026-09-22 16:45:01 UTC; LOW)
  • “Snizhna Panda” framing: STERNENKO sarcastically described the destruction of a toilet-paper warehouse as a Russian “great victory,” while the company and РБК-Україна presented it as a repeated Russian strike on a civilian commercial site. The photo showed firefighters at a blaze but did not verify the actor, date, or target. (STERNENKO, 2026-09-22 16:49:34 and 16:49:35 UTC; РБК-Україна, 16:56:28 and 16:56:29 UTC; Оперативний ЗСУ, 16:46:34 UTC; LOW/MEDIUM)
  • Rubicon Center statistics: The 49,000-combat-episode figure and target breakdown are self-reported by a Russian military unit’s channel, with no raw logs, coordinates, dates, or independent corroboration; the only image was symbolic artwork. (Центр «РУБИКОН», 2026-09-22 16:56:29 and 16:56:30 UTC; LOW)
  • Mobilization anniversary: The post combines a decree excerpt with unverified personnel claims, religious and patriotic framing, and a denial of a new mass mobilization. The decree number and date appear as shown, but the 300,000 figure, no-rotation claim, and one-million capacity claim are unverified. (Военкор Котенок, 2026-09-22 16:42:22 and 16:42:23 UTC; MEDIUM for decree excerpt, LOW for claims)
  • Greenland agreement: Операция Z’s video showed a signing ceremony, but the specific claims about two new bases, investment vetoes, and non-NATO base restrictions were not visible in the footage. ТАСС added reported terms about Pituffik and two new bases. No primary documents were supplied. (Операция Z, 2026-09-22 16:34:01 and 16:34:02 UTC; ТАСС, 16:36:06 UTC; MEDIUM for reported signing, LOW for terms)
  • EU sanctions removal: РБК-Україна relayed Foreign Minister Sybiha’s condemnation of the reported removal of Usmanov and Fridman from the EU sanctions list. No EU legal act, decision number, or date was supplied, so the removal itself remains unverified here. (РБК-Україна, 2026-09-22 16:59:44 and 16:59:45 UTC; MEDIUM for statement, LOW for removal claim)
  • Foreign recruitment allegations: The Facebook/Google recruitment claims, 89-site figure, $15,000 signing payment, and $3,000 monthly salary were not independently verifiable from the supplied screenshot. The attached ad did show a casting call linking to a Russian work-contract domain. (МОБИЛИЗАЦИЯ, 2026-09-22 16:35:32 and 16:35:33 UTC; LOW)
  • UK torpedo test claim: Поддубный relayed a claim that Britain test-fired a heavy torpedo from the XV Excalibur unmanned underwater vehicle in Scottish waters under AUKUS, with attached composite imagery. Specific technical claims, torpedo type, and location were not independently confirmed. (Поддубный |Z|О|V| edition, 2026-09-22 16:48:39 and 16:48:40 UTC; MEDIUM for reported test as relayed, LOW for technical specifics)
  • Former Ukrainian prosecutor flight claim: Дневник Десантника claimed former Ukrainian Prosecutor General Ruslan Kravchenko did not return from a PACE trip and is in Vienna seeking refugee status; it said PACE stated he was not invited. No independent confirmation was supplied. (Дневник Десантника, 2026-09-22 17:01:01 UTC; LOW)
  • Zapadne control claim: The Ukrainian post cited DeepState and showed a map with red arrows and diamonds near Dovhenke, Dvorichna, Masiutivka, and Lyman Pershyi; the attached assessment said the map lacked a legend and the video content could not be verified, so the control-restoration claim remains low-confidence. (Оперативний ЗСУ, 2026-09-22 17:00:01 and 17:00:02 UTC; LOW)
  • 40th Naval Infantry footage: The attached assessment flagged a text-visual mismatch and a vehicle marked with a red cross at 0:03, saying the footage was repurposed for propaganda and that the strike context raises unresolved verification and ethical questions. No independent confirmation was supplied. (Воин DV, 2026-09-22 16:31:42 and 16:31:43 UTC; MEDIUM for footage, LOW for context)
  • Analytic support: The supplied Dempster-Shafer beliefs are dominated by “Uncertainty” (0.653203), with low individual weights across many hypotheses. They are analytic support only and not independent corroboration of any event.

Evidence limitations and unresolved questions

  • Most claims in this batch remain single-source, partisan, or self-reported: the Dobropolye encirclement claim, the Zapadne control-restoration claim, the “Snizhna Panda” strike details, the Zhytomyr factory fire cause, the Greenland agreement clauses, the mobilization personnel figures, the Rubicon Center statistics, the SIGNUM 23-strike claim, the Archangel FPV target identity, the 40th Naval Infantry footage context, the Novovolynsk forced-mobilization claim, the foreign recruitment allegations, the Sybiha EU sanctions-removal claim, the former prosecutor flight claim, and the UK torpedo test specifics all lack independent corroboration in the supplied messages.
  • Event times are frequently absent or imprecise. Where event time is not stated, the supplied source timestamps are used and may not correspond to when the described event occurred. The “Snizhna Panda” event date is given as 22 September but without a year; the mobilization anniversary references 21 September 2026; the Zhytomyr fire is described only as “right now”; and many advisories have no stated event time beyond the advisory timestamp.
  • Geolocation, damage assessment, and casualty totals are largely missing. The Kyiv injury figure is an official Ukrainian statement and may be revised. The “Snizhna Panda” photo shows firefighters but does not identify the facility or date. The Zapadne map lacks a legend and direct DeepState citation. The Dobropolye claim has no independent map or Ukrainian response. The Zhytomyr fire has no cause or damage estimate. The Novovolynsk video lacks a verified date and police report.
  • No independent verification was supplied for the Greenland agreement terms, the EU sanctions removal of Usmanov and Fridman, the recruitment figures, the Rubicon statistics, the UK torpedo test, or the missing Russian serviceman appeal.
  • Weather context supplied as of 2026-09-22 17:00 UTC reported overcast conditions and light winds at frontline reference points, with no precipitation at the listed locations. It does not verify any strike, casualty, territorial, or infrastructure claim in this report.
  • A previous situation report and a previous daily report were supplied as baseline; their items are not re-reported here as new. Silence in this batch does not establish that any area is quiet or unchanged.